Jeff's Hot Dog Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
My husband and I followed the instructions - we could only find an 8 oz tomato sauce can, so we measured out 5 oz, and we did put a lid on it to cook once we'd stirred in all the ingredients, looking in now and again to stir. It was the best hot dog chili I've ever had. Delicious and so very easy! This is now our go-to chili. You can't buy anything this good around here, not even from a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladyaislin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
This recipe worked out PERFECTLY for me! I only made 3 slight changes, just to enhance the flavor. Instead of Worcestershire (which I realized I was out of and needed a replacement) I used low sodium soy sauce, and since I was also out of tomato sauce I replaced it with condensed tomato soup. Everything else was the same, but I added an extra ingredient for a kick: paprika. WONDERFUL flavor and I will definitely be using it in the future
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morgan Whitmire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
It was super easy and quick. However; it was too sweet for my liking. I will definitely leave out the sugar and maybe cut back on either the tomato sauce or ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Would have given 5 stars except for the changes made...I was asked to make chili dogs for our youth group and had no idea what kind of chili to make...I did not have onion powder, so I substituted dried minced onion (1 1/2 teaspoon), I omitted the sugar, added a dash or two of hot sauce and a tablepoon dijion (based on 6 servings. It was a huge hit! I am glad I increased the recipe x4 as I ran out of chili before I ran out of dogs. I did have to skim the fat off the top at least three times during the cooking process and after the intial start on the stove I transferred it to the crockpot to continue to cook and for transport.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
This was very good on a hot dog, though the ketchup made it seem more like sloppy joe meat than chili. It wasn't really spicy, so the chili powder could be increased if you want more of a kick. I did make 2 modifications. First, I used a 6 oz can of tomato paste instead of sauce because that's what I had. I also browned the meat first, then drained it while adding the other ingredients to the pot. It was too thick at first, but I added some of the drained fat a spoonful at a time until the texture was right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Great chili; taste even better a day later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
This homemade hot dog chili is the best! It is very easy to put a little heat to it if you choose to do so. I used minced onions in place of onion powder. We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Davis Schroeder

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Made this last week. Very very good good. I would disagree with some reviewers saying it was too thin. I think it was just right. If you think yours is too thin for your taste just cook it down a little more. The flavor i think was excellent. I made a minor modification by cooking it in a cast iron dutch oven in my outdoor smoker (which i highly recommend). Its definitely a great base recipe to modify for your needs. I recommend making it as directed the first time and check to see how you would like to adjust it from there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Just made this with a couple changes per other reviews...cooked the hamburger and water, then drained, then added water back in. Also omitted the 1/2 t. sugar. It is DELICIOUS!! Great recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Thank You orion3 for posting this recipe!!! This chili has the consistency I was looking for. Tweaked it just a bit & it was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States