Jeff's Hot Dog Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Would have given 5 stars except for the changes made...I was asked to make chili dogs for our youth group and had no idea what kind of chili to make...I did not have onion powder, so I substituted dried minced onion (1 1/2 teaspoon), I omitted the sugar, added a dash or two of hot sauce and a tablepoon dijion (based on 6 servings. It was a huge hit! I am glad I increased the recipe x4 as I ran out of chili before I ran out of dogs. I did have to skim the fat off the top at least three times during the cooking process and after the intial start on the stove I transferred it to the crockpot to continue to cook and for transport.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
This was very good on a hot dog, though the ketchup made it seem more like sloppy joe meat than chili. It wasn't really spicy, so the chili powder could be increased if you want more of a kick. I did make 2 modifications. First, I used a 6 oz can of tomato paste instead of sauce because that's what I had. I also browned the meat first, then drained it while adding the other ingredients to the pot. It was too thick at first, but I added some of the drained fat a spoonful at a time until the texture was right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Great chili; taste even better a day later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
This homemade hot dog chili is the best! It is very easy to put a little heat to it if you choose to do so. I used minced onions in place of onion powder. We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Davis Schroeder

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Made this last week. Very very good good. I would disagree with some reviewers saying it was too thin. I think it was just right. If you think yours is too thin for your taste just cook it down a little more. The flavor i think was excellent. I made a minor modification by cooking it in a cast iron dutch oven in my outdoor smoker (which i highly recommend). Its definitely a great base recipe to modify for your needs. I recommend making it as directed the first time and check to see how you would like to adjust it from there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Just made this with a couple changes per other reviews...cooked the hamburger and water, then drained, then added water back in. Also omitted the 1/2 t. sugar. It is DELICIOUS!! Great recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Thank You orion3 for posting this recipe!!! This chili has the consistency I was looking for. Tweaked it just a bit & it was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
The recipe is very good and easy to make, I believe it's the best hot dog chili recipes I've tried to date. The next time though I may reduce the chili powder by 1/2 tsp and use just 2. Overall excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Love this recipe. Just like I remembered as a kid. I omitted the sugar and that's my only change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rocky River, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Make this in large quantities for church. They always want "my" hot dog chili. The recipe I have been looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy's Place

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Ridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States