Jeera (Cumin) Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Absolutely what I was looking for!! I was so excited when I took the first bite. I added turmeric to the rice water while it cooked, so it gave it a nice yellow colouring :) Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyKathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chelmsford, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Great simple recipe. Added fresh cinnamin, ground pepper and cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
It was just YUMMY. The only changes/additions I made was instead of water I used chicken broth and tossed in a handful of frozen peas. It was tastey. I used it as a side dish to BBQ spare ribs and steamed carrots. I love cumin so this was really flavorful. I will make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpeshulK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MamaNyk
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
Amazing simple and exceptional flavor!!! Definitely a new family favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
this is how i make my basmati rice every time. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2001
Great recipe! I have an Indian friend who gave me a couple of suggestions. I added 1/4 cup of frozen peas, then add a few strands of saffron to the top. Cover and steamed for about 5 minutes. Was awesome! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
Yum! I also added some whole cloves. (like at our fave. Indina place) My husband loved it and was very impressed. Served with chicken tikka masala from this site....it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shiraz, Fars, Iran
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
This rice was great with the Chicken Tikka Masala recipe also listed on this site. Perfect accompaniment and the rice was yummy all by itself as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Dawkins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
One of our standby recipes now! I actually use a tablespoon of the cumin seed because we like the flavor so much. The key is to add a good half teaspoon of salt at least, and then the flavor is to die for. Adding garlic and onion to the oil would be a plus! I usually use chicken or vegetable broth instead of water in this recipe. All of these things punch up the flavor and then it isn't bland at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Hope, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
Wonderful, easy recipe. I served this with the Chicken Tikka Masala recipe on this site and it was a perfect combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Perfect Sushi Rice

Discover the tricks to making perfect sushi rice.

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States