Jeera (Cumin) Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
A quick tip to add more punch to the cumin rice is to add a few drops of lemon juice before covering the pot (ie before the rice has been cooked). That splash of zest is especially refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
Yum! I also added some whole cloves. (like at our fave. Indina place) My husband loved it and was very impressed. Served with chicken tikka masala from this site....it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shiraz, Fars, Iran
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
One of our standby recipes now! I actually use a tablespoon of the cumin seed because we like the flavor so much. The key is to add a good half teaspoon of salt at least, and then the flavor is to die for. Adding garlic and onion to the oil would be a plus! I usually use chicken or vegetable broth instead of water in this recipe. All of these things punch up the flavor and then it isn't bland at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi Witzke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Hope, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
good. next time i make it -and there will be a next time- i might play with the spices a bit and make it a little more interesting. but it was really really good. perfect with butter chicken. yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
Cumin adds a very nice flavor to the rice. Was nice served with slow roasted chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Nice suttle twist to plain rice. I used powdered cumin and cooked in a rice cooker. Will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
Wonderful, easy recipe. I served this with the Chicken Tikka Masala recipe on this site and it was a perfect combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
This was too bland for me. I did use cumin powder instead of seeds, that may have made a difference. I ended up adding salt and garlic powder which helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
This rice was great with the Chicken Tikka Masala recipe also listed on this site. Perfect accompaniment and the rice was yummy all by itself as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Dawkins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
I served this with Indian butter chicken and it was really good. I used ground cumin instead of the seeds because it was all I had and I think I will continue to make it that way. The only thing I didn't like was that usually I rinse my rice to clean it before cooking and since this recipe fries the dry rice in oil I wasn't able to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Perfect Sushi Rice

Discover the tricks to making perfect sushi rice.

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States