Jean's Swedish Faux Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
This was an excellent vegetarian protein recipes, though I made a couple changes. First, I baked the meatballs on their own for about 40 minutes, at 400 degrees, and on a sheet of parchment paper so they wouldn't stick to the baking sheet. I've tried similar vegetarian protein recipes in the frying pan, and never had much luck getting them to hold together, so I decided to skip the pan and go straight to the oven this time. Plus, a higher heat unlocks the spices more. Second, I included a spice rub in the recipe that my brother makes. He refuses to tell me what is in it, but I know it has sea salt, oregano, a smoked paprika, and a few other things I haven't figured out yet. The point is, include a little good-quality salt and a source of heat, and you'll be pleased with the outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Not sure where I went wrong, but these didn't work for me in the least. They were way too sticky and we couldn't form them into balls - probably needed more eggs. We had to continually add flour and starch to get them to firm up. Eventually just chopped them up into a strange sort of crumb topping and fried them. Also punched up the nutmeg and added salt, which helped a little. Taste was good; the original recipe's texture could use some work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jetts83
Reviewed: May 21, 2011
This was so incredibly delicious! I did make a few changes that did the trick. Instead of using burger-style crumbles, I used "Gimme Lean Sausage." (100% vegetarian. It's a soy protein. I found it at Trader Joes) To that I added the nutmeg, onion, and pepper, and crumbed up toast. I did cut down the milk to 1/2 a cup. For the sauce I did have a bit of trouble but to solve that I added cold cubed butter and a bit more flour whisking that all together. Served everything over buttered noodles. It was just awesome! I will for sure make this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I was a little bit iffy on the cream sauce but that is just because I am not a big fan of cream sauces in the first place. Also, since I didn't have half-and-half, I used 1/2 cup heavy cream and 1/2 cup soymilk. It came out very creamy and would, I'm sure, be appreciated by those who do like cream sauces. As for the meatballs, I made some changes but they came out pretty well. I substituted matzo meal for breadcrumbs and soymilk for skim milk. Since many reviewers found it difficult to keep the mixture from losing its shape, I added 1 egg and that worked perfectly. I also added about a teaspoon of allspice for more flavor. My brother the avid meat-eater said that these were good, although they didn't taste like real meatballs. Coming from him, that's high praise! I would probably make these again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
This recipe is delicious but I only used the sauce portion. Based on other reviews, I avoided the "meatball" portion of the recipe & instead used a frozen (but still vegetarian) brand. They got a little too mushy but worked out pretty well overall. If you cut down the bake time a little bit, it'll probably be perfect. When I made it a second time, I cut bake time & used my own homemade "meat"balls & it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAGDYANN422

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by Rachel Boller
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Upon reading the reviews of others, I decided to add 2 eggs to the mix in hopes that this would help hold the meatballs together, which it did! I also added a little bit of cardamom and all spice to the mix. This recipe is SO delicious! I definitely love the sauce as well. My husband and I ate the whole pan between the two of us. Poured over some egg noodles, it's almost like eating stroganoff. I absolutely would make this recipe again. It is definitely comfort food for the soul.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Boller

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
They were easy to make, and they tasted really good!!!!!!!! I used the morning star "meat" crumbles, and I went to the grocerie store and forgot veggie broth, so I used beef broth. Like the others, it was hard keeping the meatballs together, so I added an egg and that kind of helped. But with morning star it says the product only has to be heated to 160degreese so I made some into balls w/out browning them in the pan and they truned out good and stayed as balls!!! I mean for the sauce fake meat does not leave many juices anyway, so I just added more butter to the pan when I was ready to make the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
They made a total mess and fell apart completely when I went to brown them. The sauce and meat ended up being tasty, but it was more like "swedish ground beef" over noodles than swedish meat balls...I'm going to play with the recipe a bit because I liked the taste so much, to find something that will hold together better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
I halved the ground soy meat. I found the *meat*balls were difficult to keep together while browning as stated in a previous review. It definitely was a yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Tyngsboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
i used store-bought vegetarian meatballs, so i'm only rating the sauce, which was good, but a little on the thick side and i wish i'd made a bigger recipe--there wasn't enough extra sauce for the noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bethany, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States