Jean's Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Added lots more herbs, cuz I'm like that, but it was a delicious, easy recipe, perfect for the amounts I had on hand. Lots of generous vegetables, which is good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
As is, the recipe is okay. However, it's a basic guide to something AMAZING! I love how easy it was to follow and how easy it was also to create something of your own. I boiled my chicken with water and some broth with fresh herbs (rosemary, thyme and sage), garlic, onion, celery, carrot and ginger. Strained. And then completed the soup by adding more of the fresh herbs, garlic, ginger and veggies, followed by the chicken and then noodles last once everything started getting soft. I did a lot more than what the recipe called for size wise when it came to portions though, which I noticed people scored low on. I've learned through years of cooking, you cant entirely follow a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PoisonousPetal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lacey, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I made this for my family I used chicken breast diced up the raw chicken then cooked it in the oil and ground ginger I also added more water and more guts celery onions amd carrots I also seasoned with ground clover, poultry, garlic powder and I used three cans of chicken broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
My fiance came down with the flu and I wanted to make a soup that had ginger in it. I really just eye balled everything. I had a small piece of chicken breast (maybe 1/3 of a pound) in the freezer and couldn't be bothered with the step of frying it with ginger so I just boiled some water, added organic chicken bouillon, the chicken breast, slices of ginger and a couple of cloves of garlic. Chopped up the chicken once cooked, and threw it back in with carrots and celery. I did not measure anything. I didn't have any noodles, so I left them out. This is a wonderful soup for a cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Even customized it's such a simple recipe. I used turkey instead of chicken and used corn instead of celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dancemom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
We both really enjoyed this dish. It had lots of flavor. It was a little watery compared to chilis that we normally eat, but that didn't detract from the taste. We'll thicken it up the next time we try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I took some ideas from different reviews and sort of did my own thing. I sauteed chopped garlic (2 cloves), 1 medium onion, 2 carrots (chopped) and 2 boneless/skinless chicken breasts cut into pieces in 1T olive oil. I seasoned to taste with Johnny's. Once the chicken was mostly cooked through I added in 4 cups of chicken broth (I used bullion cubes), 1/2t ginger, 1t dried rosemary and 1/2t pepper. Next time I will cut way back on the pepper! the 1/2t recommendation came from a review and it was way too much. I will also leave out the ginger. My family didn't seem to notice it, but I didn't care for the flavor when added to soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Canby, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
This was delicious! I boiled the chicken with onions, garlic, ginger, salt and pepper. Then added the veggies to cook while I took the chicken off the bone and chopped and added back to the pot. I didn't have the egg noodles so I put a scoop of cooked rice in the bowl and added the soup. My boys loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
you should definitely add spring onions with some of the green part chopped 1-2 inches long. lil' bit of ground garlic or garlic powder tastes better and i also add some cilantro to colour. you can make broth by boiling chicken breast yourself. first boil it then chop into pieces. (if you do it this way, add some black pepper while boiling it, taste will be better)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Very good basic recipe. You can add spices to change up the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States