Jean's Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2001
I loved this! Will always make my chicken soup with ginger now:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Williamsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2002
Jean THANK YOU so much for posting this GREAT recipe! This was my first time making homemade chicken noodle soup and my family LOVED it!!!! This soup has great flavor and I even got my 8 yr old to try celery for once and he LOVED it!!! The ginger really gives it a kick and I would have never thought to saute chicken with it. If you want a GREAT Chicken Noodle Soup recipe be sure to try Jean's soup... it's the best!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
This was very simple & good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
I used homemade chicken stock and added the slices of ginger to the broth for several minutes to give the soup a bit more of the ginger flavor. Be careful- it's easy to lose the slices of ginger in the mix of carrots and celery, and if you leave them in too long, the soup will be overpowered with ginger flavor. However, the ginger adds some zing to the soup and makes it quite tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
This was good. I couldn't taste the ginger at all so I must have sliced it too thin but that's easy to fix next time. I do think it needs a little bit more chicken also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2004
Best Chicken Soup Ever!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2004
The ginger does add a wonderful element to this soup. You end up with a delicious broth that's got a little more flavor than ordinary chicken soup, but without making it too different than the classic taste I was looking for. I didn't have any fresh ginger, so I added powdered and also tossed in a few cloves of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
I am the author of this recipe. Just wanted to share with you my tweaked version. *Two 32 fl oz (2 quarts) of Organic chicken broth A bag of mini carrots - I leave them as is 1 large potato - chopped 3 stalks of celery - chopped 8 frozen chicken tenderloins (I like Tyson), cubed 1 Tbs extra virgin olive oil fresh ginger, garlic or scallion Mrs. Reame's frozen pre-cooked egg noodles or dumplings salt pepper Dutch oven* In dutch oven, add broth and let it come to a boil. Add veggies and pepper. In a separate skillet, add oil, ginger (or garlic or scallions), and salt to sautee. When chicken is cooked, add to the broth. Let broth come to a boil and add noodles. The longer it cooks, the better it tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
412 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2004
This was my first time making homemade chicken noodle soup. Normally my food turns out too salty or overcooked, but this simple recipe was absolutely delicious. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
this was the first chicken soup i ever made. it was a hit! my boyfriend loves it. i changed it ever so slightly and add ginger to soup while it's cooking for added flavor and also put 1/2 tsp of cilantro. thanks jean for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States