Jean's Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
My husband and I just finished devouring this soup. I am only giving it 4 stars because I like to make the stock using leftover roast chicken and I had to fudge the recipe accordingly. Here's what I did: Put what was leftover from my 4-5lb chicken in stock pot and covered with cold water. Add 2 bay leaves, a palmful of whole peppercorns, 1 medium onion cut into large chunks, 3-4 cloves smashed garlic and about a thumb-sized piece of fresh, peeled ginger, also smashed. Add about 1 TBsp salt. This sounds like a lot, but trust me, you'll need it. Simmer on medium-low heat with lid on for about 45 mins - 1 hour. Next, strain into large bowl, reserving the broth. Separate chicken from bones and add the meat and the chunk of ginger into the bowl with broth. Discard the remaining bones and onion, bay leaves etc. Put broth back into stock pot and onto medium heat. Add chopped celery and carrot and allow to simmer for about 1/2 hour. Taste broth and adjust seasoning if necessary. If you're like me, you'll probably need to add more salt and pepper. Remove ginger, bring broth to a slow boil add 1.5-2c egg noodles (1/2c of egg noodles equates to about 12 noodles... definitely not enough!). Simmer for about 10 mins and serve. My husband says he isn't normally a fan of soup but he had two servings and all but licked the bowl in the end! The ginger adds a lovely zesty flavor in the background and really completes this soup. It's a recipe I'll come back to again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by taricotta

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
It was very tasty... I used about 2 cups of white rice instead of noodles, and added more veggies, a little onion, parsley, basil, rosemary, onion powder, fresh garlic, and ginger powder. It was a delightful meal for a somber, rainy day. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ctellifson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I would say this is a pretty good soup, but not out of this world. Just didn't have enough great favor for me to rate it 5 stars. I would make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I just made this for my family who is all stuffed up. Its very cold outside and this was a PERFECT soup. I used way more Ginger with the chicken ( prob twice the amt) And my husband is raving about how wonderful this is for his stuffed up nose. I used kluski noodles and onion slices for added ZEST, THIS is a GREAT "sick" or cold day soup ! Thanks Jean ;)You addes a gold star to my sleeve with the hubby !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
VERY GOOD AND YES I WILL MAKE IT AGAIN,AGAIN. THANKS TERRY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bucket of cookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I made this recipe when I was sick and it turned out great. My husband had some when he came home from work and had two servings. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Gresham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
This was a good recipe. I prefer to add a twist to my recipes for our taste. I sauteed 2 chicken breasts with a garlic clove. I also added one crushed garlic clove to the soup itself. I wanted some "greens" in the soup. If I had spinach I would have added that but all I had on hand was snow peas so I added a handful. I also added a dash of celery seed and dried rosemary. I will make this soup again - It really warmed us up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Very good. The ginger gives it a nice zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allison Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
This was good and easy to make. Perfect for a cold rainy day...I wish I had some right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greene, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
I'm really glad I found this recipe. The ginger was a nice change!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States