Jean's Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This made a good meal. The only reason I gave this a 4 instead of a 5 was because I guess I was expecting something else. The front picture of this recipe was a tad decieving. I thought there would be a thicker texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Farmer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I was unsure of the quantity of ginger. I think I added too much because it didn't have the traditional hearty soup taste. Of course, that could be my fault because I didn't put celery in it... and who neglects celery in soup?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Armada, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I thought this was good, but I have to think there is a better Clhicken Noodle Soup recipe. Next time I will make the changes the author recommended. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Fantastic recipe! Quick, easy, and very tasty. My husband doesn't eat cooked celery so I made one change - I used 1 stalk of celery cut into large chunks, 1 tsp celery salt, and 1 tsp poultry seasoning. It tastes just like the original recipe without lots of greenery to scare people away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chester, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
My family loved this soup! I doubled the recipe and sauteed the onion, celery and carrot. I had pre baked some chicken so added the ginger root in the pot with everything else. Also used 3/4 bag of Wacky Mac noodles in place of the egg noodles to give it some more color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WAMommyof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This was great homemade soup. Perfect for a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This is the best chicken soup EVER! You must use fresh ginger and let it simmer in the pot with the other veggies. I added a 4" sprig of rosemary and some sliced fresh mushrooms. Instead of noodles, I used wild rice. Thank you for sharing, Jean. My family loves this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilDish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This soups is so comforting. Every time I'm feeling slightly under the weather or just want something healthy and savory, I make this soup. Wonderful recipe...I do add a bit more ginger, though. It gives it a really soothing element.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
really yummy in my tummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara p

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I have made this soup for a couple people and received rave reviews! My mom was wondering what the secret ingredient was and it was the GINGER! You must use fresh ginger root for this. I slice it up and put it in the soup while it is simmering. Then I remove the pieces right before serving. It gives it such a fresh taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States