Jean's Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
This is a fantastic recipe. My little girls loves chicken noodle soup (Campbell's) and I dread feeding it to her. I used this recipe instead and the egg noodles were a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
Very, very nice recipe. Really makes you believe that it fights off cold viruses - with GREAT flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
I made several changes to this recipe, but I am giving it 5 stars because it really helped me to have a great base to start with! I took the advice of several others and added more chicken and noodles, added a couple of bullion cubes, a pinch of rosemary, and some parsley. I also boiled my chicken with garlic and a bay leaf and used that water in the soup. It turned out fabulous! I know some get annoyed when you change the recipe, but I agree with what someone else said that it is fun to add your own special touch! BTW I left out the ginger only because my family just had ginger flavored chinese food the night before :)Thanks for a great starter recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Hudak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenny
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
The only change I made was I added fresh garlic. I also used baby carrots because I didn't have any whole carrots. Pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
Great soup. I used rotisserie chicken and then cooked the bones to make the broth. I cooked the bones with onions, garlic, a PARSNIP (which really makes a difference) and then put the cooked chicken in afterwards. It is an excellent way to use up the carcass of the chicken and makes excellent broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
We had turkey & vegetables leftover from the Slow Cooker Turkey Breast recipe on this site. I cut most of the remaining meat off of the bone, cut it into chunks & then simmered the bone in the chicken stock & water. After about 45 minutes, I took it out of the pot & removed the rest of the meat. Next, I cut the carrots, celery & onions into smaller pieces & added them to the stock pot. While they simmered a while, I browned the meat in the oil along with the ginger. I wish I had added a little more ginger because there was a lot of turkey. After the 5 minutes, I removed the ginger, added the meat to the pot along with the noodles. We like a lot of noodles so I added a little extra. Also, a little extra pepper was needed, for our taste. I wouldn't advise adding any salt. Anyway, after about 20 minutes, it was ready to eat. We had a very unusual rainy day in Northern California. This soup really hit the spot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Healdsburg, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
This soup was good. I made it exactly as the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARINEL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
Well, most people that enjoy cooking usually add thier own "special flair" to what ever recipe they use. That said, I made this soup, but fried cubed chicken in a ginger sauce I always keep on hand. While veggies were cooking, I added my usually seasonings and a couple tablespoons of vegetable soup base - then the chicken with all the stock it cooked in. And a final touch - throw in a can of petite diced tomatoes! We will definately have this soup again. The basic recipe looked like it could be low on flavor - but that's where creativity comes in! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ghost Whisperer

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
A friend made this soup for me when I was sick, I was so grateful, but, even really sick I could tell how bland this soup is, and really, it barely qualifies as semi-homemade much less home-made. Stick to the canned version, it's tastier and less work for better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chaplinj

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Not that much flavor to me! It was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States