Jean's Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by MaLizGa
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I found this very bland and I thought it was because I didn't add the ginger (mine went bad) but now I see others had the same complaint. I also found it to be more stew-like: I put in two stalks chopped carrot, celery and parsnip. It's a great starting point though so I'll try it again with the ginger and other seasonings. ~UPDATE~ My BF "fixed" the leftovers by adding water and chicken flavored consomme soup mix - MUCH more flavorful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
We had this tonight and it was a huge hit. The ginger was amazing! I added parsnips just because I had them lying around, but they probably didn't change the flavor all that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
My family loved this! The only difference I made was cooking the chicken with chopped up garlic before adding it to the stock. Great recipe! (My family is VERY picky.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
i make this whenever my husband is sick. it's just about the perfect chicken noodle soup! the only change i make is to finely chop the ginger and let it stay with the chicken, and add several cloves of chopped garlic when sauteing the chicken with the ginger. we love garlic and it's a natural antibiotic. good job, jean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
My boyfriend came down with a cold and I started looking for a chicken noodle soup recipe. So glad I found this one! I made a few modifications: (1) I substituted chicken stock for water; (2) I used lots of fresh parsley and I'm glad I did. I forgot to take the ginger root out and I probably should have because the ginger flavor at the end was pretty strong. But this was a super soul satisfying soup and I'm really glad I found it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Really good! The ginger made it special. I made the chicken seperately, with green onions, ginger, and minced garlic. I cooked it in a skillet with chicken stock and let the stock steam away. It was sooo delectable. I also used canned carrots. The soup tasted better after it had been refrigerated over night and reheated for lunch. Ate it with French bread. My family gave me great reviews. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GratefulLed

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Spicewood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
i added 1 cup whole kernal corn and 1 cup diced potato's,10 mins. before done..great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Some of the best chicken soup i ever had. Would highly recommend every one to at least try it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I love the ginger flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mflanigan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
The recipe was very simple to make. However, I only rated four stars due to bland taste. Once I made the soup according to the recipe, I added additional seasonings in order to boost the flavor. **When you are sick, the ginger root is really key** I also increased the liquids. I used my crock-pot vs. stovetop in order to allow the ingredients to absorb the seasonings while simmering. This soup makes plenty for leftovers and freezes very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veda'sCookingDinner

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 31-40 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States