Jean's Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Absolutely excellent. Didn't use any water. Next time, I believe I will add at least a cup. However, the flavor was wonderful. I also sauteed one clove of garlic with the chicken and ginger. Rave reviews from my bf. Thanks for a great post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
This seems to be a hit with husbands. It was with mine, too. Followed the recipe exactly but didn't add noodles. So good, and tasted really healthful, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
A great recipe!! I modified it a little: 1) I used a homemade chicken broth instead of canned. 2) I used ginger paste and chopped garlic to coat the chicken before sauteing it, instead of using ginger root. 3) I added a little chicken broth on a skillet for sauteing chicken pieces, instead of using olive oil. Oil kills the taste of a chicken soup. Soup came out very tasty, good enough to serve it in a restaurant!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
A simple recipe with a unique spin. The ginger adds a paramount flavor that compliments the soup perfectly. Instead of just cooking the chicken with the ginger take one or two slices and boil it to give it an extra dash of ginger to the soups base. Beware not to eat the ginger! Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
fantastic!! i added mord chicken and vedg. than it says thay said i should open my own soup kit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef trent

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Simple and great for cold weather or if you're felling ill. My husband and son enjoyed it. I used wheat macaroni noodles instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I didn't follow the recipe exactly, but this was the base for the soup I tried tonight, which turned out delicious! Both of my typically picky eaters loved the flavor, as well as my husband and me. I sauteed 1/2 an onion in oil, added quartered carrots, spices (basil, oregano, thyme, rosemary, parsley, black pepper), and celery. Then I added the chicken stock from chicken I had freshly boiled (in water with the sliced ginger and pepper). I still sauteed the diced chicken with (now chopped) ginger root and added that to the main pot. I threw in some chicken bullion and broccoli at the last minute (didn't have enough celery/greens) before I added some homemade egg noodles (recipe I found on here...great!). Cooked til noodles were al dente. I personally enjoyed the touch of ginger immensely. Very flavorful and savory, a perfect soup for the soul!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
no flavour at all, them bones must have been real old
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ProStreet33Ford

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
a disappointingly small amount of soup for the amount of veggies involved in the cooking process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Very good recipe. I used the chicken broth from the whole chicken that I cooked in my oven roaster instead of canned chicken broth. I also added parsley and rosemary. family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States