Jean's Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
This seems to be a hit with husbands. It was with mine, too. Followed the recipe exactly but didn't add noodles. So good, and tasted really healthful, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
A great recipe!! I modified it a little: 1) I used a homemade chicken broth instead of canned. 2) I used ginger paste and chopped garlic to coat the chicken before sauteing it, instead of using ginger root. 3) I added a little chicken broth on a skillet for sauteing chicken pieces, instead of using olive oil. Oil kills the taste of a chicken soup. Soup came out very tasty, good enough to serve it in a restaurant!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
A simple recipe with a unique spin. The ginger adds a paramount flavor that compliments the soup perfectly. Instead of just cooking the chicken with the ginger take one or two slices and boil it to give it an extra dash of ginger to the soups base. Beware not to eat the ginger! Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
fantastic!! i added mord chicken and vedg. than it says thay said i should open my own soup kit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef trent

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Simple and great for cold weather or if you're felling ill. My husband and son enjoyed it. I used wheat macaroni noodles instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I didn't follow the recipe exactly, but this was the base for the soup I tried tonight, which turned out delicious! Both of my typically picky eaters loved the flavor, as well as my husband and me. I sauteed 1/2 an onion in oil, added quartered carrots, spices (basil, oregano, thyme, rosemary, parsley, black pepper), and celery. Then I added the chicken stock from chicken I had freshly boiled (in water with the sliced ginger and pepper). I still sauteed the diced chicken with (now chopped) ginger root and added that to the main pot. I threw in some chicken bullion and broccoli at the last minute (didn't have enough celery/greens) before I added some homemade egg noodles (recipe I found on here...great!). Cooked til noodles were al dente. I personally enjoyed the touch of ginger immensely. Very flavorful and savory, a perfect soup for the soul!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
no flavour at all, them bones must have been real old
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ProStreet33Ford

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
a disappointingly small amount of soup for the amount of veggies involved in the cooking process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Very good recipe. I used the chicken broth from the whole chicken that I cooked in my oven roaster instead of canned chicken broth. I also added parsley and rosemary. family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MaLizGa
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I found this very bland and I thought it was because I didn't add the ginger (mine went bad) but now I see others had the same complaint. I also found it to be more stew-like: I put in two stalks chopped carrot, celery and parsnip. It's a great starting point though so I'll try it again with the ginger and other seasonings. ~UPDATE~ My BF "fixed" the leftovers by adding water and chicken flavored consomme soup mix - MUCH more flavorful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States