Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
It is VERY rare that I enjoy fish. This recipe is delicious and I can finally get rid of all that fish that has been sitting in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Easy, delicious, and fast. Add a side of pasta and it's a great weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I made this a couple of nights ago and we're having the leftovers tonight. Both my husband and I really liked it. I did put some tabasco in with egg as another reviewer suggested and it added just a little zip. Followed the rest of the recipe exactly. I definitely make this often. Thanks crabby jean! Update! We reheated in the toaster oven and was as good as the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rriddle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
As written, the coating tends to flake off easily. try mixing the salt and pepper with 1/2 cup of flour and coat the fish in this, shake off excess before dipping in egg mixture, again let excess drip off, then coat with crumb mixture. Let rest for about 10 minutes before frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I am not a big fish fan, but even I enjoyed this! Followed the recipe as written except 1) didn't have roasted onion flakes so used dried minced onion instead and 2) put the spices in a Ziploc bag to coat fillets after dipping them in the milk mixture. Usually my husband and I use cocktail sauce on our fish dishes, but this was so good, it didn't really need it! Great recipe...thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
It was pretty okay. Nothing too special but we liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
My mother only ever cooked fish in crumbs, but she used crushed Corn Flakes. I found it very good. I used ordinary bread crumbs as I found the rest of the ingredients seasoned enough. My Old Bay Mix (found the recipe here on AR) is highly spiced. I did find it hard to make the crumbs stick to the fish and I had to put the fillets back into the egg/milk and then the crumbs again. The first lot were well soaked and on the second try the crumbs stuck very well and the coating was quite thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I made per instructions except used cod, already had, the next night I used on chicken breast and is wonderful on either. Thanks for sharing the recipe Crabbyjean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I don't eat tilapia however this recipe is excellent with any white fish - flounder, red snapper, dover sole, etc. I do bake it in the oven as well. Give it a try just not with tilapia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
You have some very creative people that send in recipes! I loved this. It was easy to make, and as another reviewer said, I happened to have all the ingredients in my cabinet, so it made it easy. I will try another reviewer's idea of baking them also, but this was perfect. May not be necessary to use the salt, but what little you put in shouldn't make a big difference. Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Brown Butter Pan-Fried White Fish

See how to make quick and easy pan-fried fish in brown butter.

Pan-Seared Tilapia

Discover the delicious and easy way to prepare tilapia.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States