Jeannie's Famous Potato Hamburger Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
I found this recipe looking for some real comfort food for dinner tonight with ingredient that I had. I'd like to start off by saying that I am not a calorie-counter-- never, ever actually, but happened to see the calorie count in the nutrition info and was shocked at the calories and fat in this dish! 852 calories and 64.8 gms of fat in one serving! Holey Moley! I made some substitutions for taste and to lower the cal/fat. I parboiled my potatoes, but I won't bother next time. An hour in the oven will be fine as long as you slice them relatively thin (1/8 inch). I added a few dashes of Worcestershire sauce and some chopped banana peppers (with the extra juice squeezed out) to the ground beef. For the sauce I substituted 1.5 cups of 2% milk and 1.5 cups of light chicken stock for the 3 cups of milk. Instead of a cup of heavy cream I used 1/2 cup of sour cream that I had on hand. I was going to add a full cup but the sauce was rich enough with only 1/2 cup . These substitutions cut the fat and calories by half! I also added an additional 1 tbl. of flour to the roux because some other reviewers complained of runniness. I browned-up the roux to make the sauce a little more robust. Be sure to keep the flame low and keep stirring. I used 2 cups of cheese instead of 4, which seemed like overkill: I used 1 cup of a jack, cheddar, asadero blend and 1 cup of shredded mozz. I cooked it for an hour in a large cast-iron skillet and it was perfectly done: crisp and bro
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
This is SOOO good!The only changes I made were a can of evaporated milk in place of the cream,and cut down the amount of potatoes to 4.I also chopped the onion instead of slices. Very hearty and very tastee! My husband and son loved it,and I have saved this recipe for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Branson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
What a wonderful flavor. After reading some reviews about not being able to get the potatoes fully cooked, I just boiled them before slicing them. (brought them to a boil, turned them off and covered them for ten minutes, then I bathed them in cold water, till I was ready to slice them) The result was a slightly under cooked potato that finished off nicely in the casserole. It turned out great. The next day I put the left overs in an augratin dish over a bed of frozen peas. I added a tbls of heavy cream to the peas, and topped it all with a little more cheese. Again great result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
I'm usually a good cook and most recipes I try turn out great. I don't know what,if anything I did wrong with this recipe, but it turned out terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheocon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
This was great, loved it. The only changes I made was I increased the hamburger to two pounds and used a 2 pound bag of Ore-Ida Southern style hash browns in place of the potatoes. Next time I'll use a bigger baking dish as it barely all fit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ingleside, Texas, USA
Living In: Aransas Pass, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
Awesome! My husband loves it so much that he could eat the whole pan by himself! The only thing I did differently was used tater tots instead of potatoes to save time on chopping. If you do this, make sure you bake them in the oven for about 20 min (while meat is browning) before you layer them or else the casserole will take FOREVER to cook! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I cut back on the potatoes and cooked them before I mixed them in...if onions are too potent...saute them before browning the hamburger...garlic and onion powder...extra cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaDigger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
I followed the recipe exactly and my family absolutely loved it. I will hang on to this one. I would bake it an hour so the potatoes are softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
This recipe (with a few of my adjustments and adjustments made by other reviewers) was SOOOO GOOD! First, instead of cooking the onions, which I didn't have, I started right with cooking the ground beef. I seasoned extra lean ground beef with plenty of onion powder and garlic powder, some Adobo seasoning, steak seasoning, garlic salt, 1/2 small can of chopped green chilies (suggested by reviewers from New Mexico) and black pepper. I then added a scoop of sour cream to the cooled meat and about 1TB. of Worcestershire sauce. Next for the Au Gratin potato portion, I made the roux like directed (no problems here for me) and then mixed in about 2 tsp. of chicken bouillon and about 2 cups of 1% milk. When this mixture thickened up, I turned off the heat and added 2 cups of grated sharp cheddar cheese, the rest of the can of chopped green chilies, another 1 TB. of Worcestershire sauce and about 1/2C. of sour cream. To the sauce, I added my thin cut potato slices (I used 3 large red potatoes that I had boiled until tender, then peeled and sliced). Lastly, I layered my potato mixture with ground beef in a buttered baking dish (potatoes, beef, potatoes, beef, ending with potatoes). I baked dish covered at 350 degrees for 45 minutes. And then uncovered dish, added some green onions (chives) to the top and cooked for an additional 10 minutes. For the last 5 minutes, I broiled the dish in order to get a bubbly and toasty top. My husband loved the dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chaneenie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
This turned out excellent. Husband and I loved it and he has requested I make it again! He said I should add more cheese, but he says that about everything. At first I thought I would need to add more meat because hubby is a big meat eater, but the meat-to-potato ratio is perfect, DON'T CHANGE IT!!! My only suggestion is to cut the potatoes into smaller pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Fachamatta's Famous Potatoes

See the amazing story behind Joseph Crecca’s famous “Fachamatta Potatoes.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States