Jeannie's Famous Potato Hamburger Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly (I always do that first) but this was blah, and heavy, and the cheese/milk almost seemed curdled with hamburger and potatoes. Basically it tasted like scalloped potatoes with hamburger thrown in but something bad happened along the way. I will not try to modify this one at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
very tasty indeed! i made a few changes to the recipe. instead of 3cups of milk i used 1/2 cup and 1 10oz can of cream of mushroom soup. i also layered the bottom of the baking dish with 1can of pillsbury dinner croissants(found in the frozen section of your grocery store) rolls and flattened them. then i layered the ingredients according to recipe. i also skipped seasoning the cream instead i seasoned my hamburger meat with a little taco seasoning and chili powder. it turned out fantastic!!! oh and yes make sure you boil your potatoes first
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This is a good recipe, albeit a greasy one. Most likely due to the cheese itself. I agree with other posters that 4 cups of cheese is a lot, but my family loves cheese, so I left it at 4 cups. My only real complaint is that it took Forever to cook. The potatoes just didn't want to get tender. It took close to two hours to finish cooking. This may have been due to my being in Denver and our weird altitude. Other than that, between three adults and two kids, there was barely anything left in the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heff76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gregory, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I really liked the idea of this recipe, but I changed it a whole lot. it sounded too rich and too expensive to make. You have to cover it with foil to get the potatoes done in a timely manner. I cooked the ground beef but used only 1/2 lb, with the onion, added 1/2 t seasoned salt and 1/8 t garlic powder. Added about 3/4 cup flour to this and then added 5 cups of milk and one cup of water.this I cooked into a "gravy". Layered into 9x13, sauce, then 1/8 head cabbage chopped, potatoes, sauce, 1/8 head chopped cabbage again, potatoes, sauce. added 2 c shredded cheddar on top, sprinkled with parsley. baked covered with foil 1 hr 25 minutes from cold oven (didn't preheat). then 20 minutes uncovered to brown. I think I kept the original feel of the recipe but added more flavor and veggies by adding cabbage and seasoned salt and garlic. and lightened it a lot by using less meat and cheese and no cream and adding another veggie. also made it more economical priced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
It was okay. A little less flavor than I'd hoped but all in all it worked out well as a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonmeilleurami

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
My 4 teenagers and my husband loved this recipe. The only thing I changed was I used frozen hash browns so it only took 40 minutes to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This was AWESOME!!!! I made some slight adjustments, but pretty much followed the recipe! I added some dry taco seasoning to the beef, added some more splashes of cream and milk to the sauce......and just used marble cheese.... It was divine!!! very hearty and filling.. my fiance and his son loved it! barley anything left afterwards...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I halved the recipe, but next time I should make full as it just made enough for me and hubby. I used ground chicken. I also made it all in my cast iron casserole dish to save on dirty pots. I added clove or garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tastytaters

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
With a little help this recipe is great. I added chilis, cayenne, cumin and worcestershire to my hamburger mixture and it turned out very flavorful. I also partially cooked my potatoes before slicing and putting in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TashiLynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
My potatoes came out undercooked like some other reviewers had mentioned. I cooked it for 10 extra minutes but they were still more underdone than I would have preferred. My husband really liked this dish and even liked the texture of the undercooked potatoes. Next time I will probably add a half an hour to the cook time or pre-cook the potatoes a bit. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Fachamatta's Famous Potatoes

See the amazing story behind Joseph Crecca’s famous “Fachamatta Potatoes.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States