Jeannie's Famous Potato Hamburger Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
In my book, this is a recipe to be used as a springboard for your own interpretation. I made it my way last night, and it was very, very good...as simple comfort food. I knew at a glance that the white sauce was wrong (and other reviewers found runny) so I used Cook's Illustrated classic white sauce: 1/4 cup butter, generous 1/4 cup flour, two cups chicken stock and 3/4 cup heavy cream. Perfect. I diced my onions for my toddler's sake and sauteed in bacon fat to pack some more flavor. I then removed them, sauteed the beef in 1 tbsp bacon fat as well and then combined the onions and beef. I par-boiled the potatoes and sliced them thin. Then I layered as directed using my white sauce and just eyeballing the cheese. I was a bit worried I might not have enough white sauce but it really spread out and expanded during cooking and was perfect. We really enjoyed this very much as I made it! Might add sauteed chopped spinach to the beef mixture next time -- not to improve the flavor but to sneak more veggies in my son...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I had high expectations for this recipe but was disappointed. The sauce would not thicken and so I had to add corn starch, this took well over a 1/2 hour to get it to thicken. The potatoes do have to be par-cooked before baking or they will be raw. The sauce had a good flavor and the onions were great. Not sure how to tweek it, or if I would even try. I hope someone else has some ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
NEEDS changes! #1 Be sure to add enough salt and pepper to make a difference, and add garlic and parsley to beef mixture, and sprinkle paprika on final top. #2 Be prepared to leave this "covered" in the oven for a ample amount of time. I baked it for 1:40 minutes and the potatoes were STILL not done! Take foil off and crisp top after it is all cooked. #3 To make it simpler, a can of cream of chicken or mushroom soup with milk and sour cream will do in place of the roux, which is time consuming. #4 Cook the onions "with" the ground beef, no need to make it another step! #5 A full pound of beef is not necessary for this dish. (1/2 - 3/4 is plenty)! Following the recipe as is.... leaves you with a runny sauce in the end and nearly raw potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Awesome dish -- kids love it, and so did I. And feeds a large crew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
used 4 potatoes with skins , evap milk for crm and skim milk 2 cups chs, icbinb for bttr needs a little salt and more meat prob 2 lbs kids liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Great use of leftover potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Made as listed the first time, and made again with some changes. Original recipe lacked flavor. Added some Worchestersire sauce, garlic, mushrooms and chopped hot pickled pepper rings. Much improved. I really enjoyed this recipe with the additions to boost the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I cooked it exactly to the recipe but I seasoned the hamburger as it was cooking Took 2 hours to bake before the potatoes were cooked. Had to send the husband out to pick up a pizza for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I donno what I did wrong with this but I could not eat it : (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This was just great. Perfect for my meat a potato loving men in the house. It is like meaty scalloped potatoes.I followed the recipe as best as I could. Did not have cream, but using just extra milk worked fine. Leftovers this morning were delish. Bet it would freeze well. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chop and Potato Casserole

A simple, delicious hearty meal!

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Twice Baked Potato Casserole with Bacon

Potatoes, bacon, cheese...need we say more?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States