Jeanne's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2001
This sauce was outstanding. Im not a meat lover so i just used a couple packs of turkey sausage and deleted the ground beef and turkey. I also added some mushrooms. It was excellent. Has a great taste. My husband told me to never buy grocery store sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
This recipe really exceeded my expectations. The flavor is great and my husband didn't notice the squash at all! (He HATES squash) I scaled the recipe for 6 servings with no problem & used zucchini instead of yellow squash. I also substituted turkey sausage that I had on hand for the kielbasa. It's a flexible recipe that you can make hours ahead, try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2002
This "sauce" came out more like goulash, and I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
I have to say this sauce was tasty!!! A great base recipe to modify to your own tastes. I thought it was a little too chunky, but my husband thought it was perfect. "More meat next time" is all he said. Next time I will add pork ribs and chicken pieces. Thank you Jeanne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Middletown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
Considering the time this recipe takes to make, and the outcome (more like goulash and not quite spicy enough), I wouldn't make it again. Not bad, just not what I had expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
So much work. So not worth it. Spaghetti Sauce should have some spice to it, this did not. Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDOWNING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
Wonderful! We made several batches and froze. We will make even more sauce this year because we absolutely love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
This sauce was incredible...i made it for my family and they gobbled it right up. Now i make it in large quantaties so i can freeze it for when i need a quick and delicious homemade meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
Yummy! For the meat requirements, I used 1/2 pound of ground turkey and 1 pound of Italian chicken sausage (instead of ground beef and kielbasa). I used zucchini instead of yellow squash, and I added chopped celery. I used fresh basil instead of dried, and freshly-ground pepper instead of whole peppercorns. The tomato paste I used was pesto-flavored, and my can of tomato sauce was 15 ounces (instead of 10 ounces). Also, I found 2 Tbsp. of olive oil to be plenty for cooking the vegetables. All of this made a wonderful spaghetti sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This was exactly what I needed. My mom used to make great spaghetti sauce in a crock pot, and I needed to know the basics to make a good sauce from scratch. This was fantastic! Tweak it and have fun with it, the basic seasonings and overall ingredients are a great start. I used less squash, added zucchini and olives and carrots. Mom's can't touch this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States