Jeanne's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2001
This sauce was outstanding. Im not a meat lover so i just used a couple packs of turkey sausage and deleted the ground beef and turkey. I also added some mushrooms. It was excellent. Has a great taste. My husband told me to never buy grocery store sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
This recipe really exceeded my expectations. The flavor is great and my husband didn't notice the squash at all! (He HATES squash) I scaled the recipe for 6 servings with no problem & used zucchini instead of yellow squash. I also substituted turkey sausage that I had on hand for the kielbasa. It's a flexible recipe that you can make hours ahead, try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2002
This "sauce" came out more like goulash, and I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
I have to say this sauce was tasty!!! A great base recipe to modify to your own tastes. I thought it was a little too chunky, but my husband thought it was perfect. "More meat next time" is all he said. Next time I will add pork ribs and chicken pieces. Thank you Jeanne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Middletown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
Considering the time this recipe takes to make, and the outcome (more like goulash and not quite spicy enough), I wouldn't make it again. Not bad, just not what I had expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
So much work. So not worth it. Spaghetti Sauce should have some spice to it, this did not. Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDOWNING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
Wonderful! We made several batches and froze. We will make even more sauce this year because we absolutely love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
This sauce was incredible...i made it for my family and they gobbled it right up. Now i make it in large quantaties so i can freeze it for when i need a quick and delicious homemade meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
Yummy! For the meat requirements, I used 1/2 pound of ground turkey and 1 pound of Italian chicken sausage (instead of ground beef and kielbasa). I used zucchini instead of yellow squash, and I added chopped celery. I used fresh basil instead of dried, and freshly-ground pepper instead of whole peppercorns. The tomato paste I used was pesto-flavored, and my can of tomato sauce was 15 ounces (instead of 10 ounces). Also, I found 2 Tbsp. of olive oil to be plenty for cooking the vegetables. All of this made a wonderful spaghetti sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This was exactly what I needed. My mom used to make great spaghetti sauce in a crock pot, and I needed to know the basics to make a good sauce from scratch. This was fantastic! Tweak it and have fun with it, the basic seasonings and overall ingredients are a great start. I used less squash, added zucchini and olives and carrots. Mom's can't touch this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States