Jeanne's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I cut the recipe to 3 servings---more than enough for the two of us. I pretty much followed the recipe except for using zucchini instead of yellow squash, Johnsonville Mild Italian Sausage rather than the ground beef, and red bell pepper rather than green. I also simmered it on stovetop for about three hours rather than in a slowcooker. This definitely got better with age, as most recipes like this do when flavors have a chance to meld. The first night we had this over pasta, but several days later we had this over grilled hamburger patties. We thought this was a good meal! Thanks, Jeanne Gold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Very tasty. I only made tiny changes and it came out quite well. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Hallenbeck

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Took too much time and effort to render this recipe into something my family would call 'spaghetti sauce.' It gets a star for 1) being edible 2) using ingredients I had. My final version turned out good; I employed my stick blender to smooth out about 80% of the vegetation. I had to add more tomato product and a ton of spices (handfuls of dried spices). Other than using up some squash I didn't want going to waste, this recipe was not worth the 6 hours invested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lugoff, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This was really yummy! I added more meat than the recipe called for so I needed to add some more tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This was exactly what I needed. My mom used to make great spaghetti sauce in a crock pot, and I needed to know the basics to make a good sauce from scratch. This was fantastic! Tweak it and have fun with it, the basic seasonings and overall ingredients are a great start. I used less squash, added zucchini and olives and carrots. Mom's can't touch this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
Wonderful! We made several batches and froze. We will make even more sauce this year because we absolutely love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
Overall a good recipe but a bit bland, I added a few red pepper flakes but it still needed something more...I also used mushrooms instead of squash...I will make this again but will add some spice with kick to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
Considering the time this recipe takes to make, and the outcome (more like goulash and not quite spicy enough), I wouldn't make it again. Not bad, just not what I had expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
So much work. So not worth it. Spaghetti Sauce should have some spice to it, this did not. Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDOWNING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
This recipe really exceeded my expectations. The flavor is great and my husband didn't notice the squash at all! (He HATES squash) I scaled the recipe for 6 servings with no problem & used zucchini instead of yellow squash. I also substituted turkey sausage that I had on hand for the kielbasa. It's a flexible recipe that you can make hours ahead, try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States