Jeanie's Falafel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2005
Nice vegan recipe! Very tasty and my husband said it was the best falafel he'd ever tasted although I thought it tasted like regular falafel (which I love and is a compliment for a vegan recipe). The recipe says it serves 6 but for my family (myself, my husband and my three year old son) I had to double the recipe and had only 3 falafel balls left. When frying I had to dump the oil between the first and second batches because the falafel balls crumbled a bit in the oil. To solve this problem next time I think I'll put them in the oven which will cut alot of the fat too. I served them in a pita with tomatoes and tahini sauce with ketchup and had a side of roasted potatoes. Very yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
Delicious!!! Be sure to add enough bread crumbs to make a "burger" consistency. I fried them as burgers, put 1000 island, tomatoes, lettuce and cucumbers on a hamburger bun, and had a feast! Wonderful, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2005
Didn't have any cilantro (coriander) leaves so added mint, and lemon juice to moisten it with a little olive oil. shallow fried them too and came out fine but would imagine they would be a lot crispier deep fried. Made 8 small burgers about 2inches by 1/2 inch, perfect for us 2 served in pittas with salad and a corn-on-the-cob on the side. Very nice would make these again. Thanks x
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ButtercupBento

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoke-On-Trent, Staffordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
I have never heard of tumeric in falafel and authentic falafel always has tahini in it which is a sesame paste. My falafel balls fell apart in cooking; simply disintegrated into a pile of oily crumbs. Other recipes I have read say you need to add some flour otherwise this happens. I think I'll just stick to a falafel mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
these were AMAZING. i didn't have any cilantro so i used a few random herbs/spices, can't remember which... and i accidentally burned a few of them, but they were still great. yay for vegan falafel...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by satyagraha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
This is delicous. The only thing I added was a lot of water, and an egg or two help keep it all together in the pan. I make this often, and love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissCedar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
I made a few changes, I didn't have cilantro and the only bread crumbs I had were seasoned and I also added about 1/4 cup water and one beaten egg. These came out great and I did not have the problem of them falling apart while frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pelham, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: New Ipswich, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
My beans might have been too moist, but my falafels just disintergrated in the oil. The taste and smell were great though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woburn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
The first batch that I fried up were GREAT (didn't have cilantro, and added some finely chopped mushrooms as well), but I made the mistake of not letting the oil reheat to make the second batch. MAKE SURE THAT THE OIL IS SUPER HOT AND THAT YOU ALLOW IT TO REHEAT TO A SUPER HOT TEMPERATURE BETWEEN BATCHES, OR ELSE THEY WILL FALL APART.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Spangler McKendry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Manchester, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
tasted great, but fell apart on me...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sean's Falafel and Cucumber Sauce

Simple and quick recipe to prepare that delivers lots of Mediterranean flavors.

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Easiest Falafel

Make quick-and-easy falafel with common ingredients from your pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States