Jeanie's Falafel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Delicious! I didnt have an onion or all of the spices, but the combination still worked out well. I also shaped the falafel into patties and pan-fried them. I added some hot sauce for some flare and they are delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
These were yummy but very messy to make. Everything was neat and tidy until the frying started. I don't have a deep fryer so I used the stove... many of them fell apart during the frying process and I felt like I was losing gold. I'll make a couple of adjustments next time, mainly baking them instead of frying by lining a baking sheet with foil, brushing oil on the sheet/foil, forming small patties instead of balls and brushing the tops with oil. Bake for 15 - 20 minutes, flipping halfway between to prevent burning. Healthier and cleaner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miremba

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Very easy and very delicious! I used a suggestion left by a previous reviewer and added 1 egg white to the mix. I also ended up having to add about 1 tablespoon of water to get the patties to hold together enough to convince me they wouldn't fall apart when I cooked them. They were crispy, crunchy on the outside and soft and flavorful on the inside. Perfect! I HIGHLY recommend this recipe. Throw these on a pita with some thinly sliced red onion, chopped tomato, a little romaine, a sprinkle of feta, and a healthy dollup of tzatziki sauce....YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DownHomeGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
My first time making falafel and it was so easy, and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This was really great. Easy and delicious! My kids all loved this dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Jason Luuuuuves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Excellent recipe. My variation: I used Leek instead of onion, didn't have cilantro so used fresh celery leaves. I also added a little fresh jalapeno and approx. 1/4 cup egg white. Placed everything except for beans in a food processor and blended to a paste. Added the beans and continued to blend. Then I ground up 1/4c flax seed and 1/4c Salba grain (both loaded with Omega3) and added that to the paste to consistency. Fried in deep fat fryer (canola oil). If they stick, lower the temp on the oil and don't let them drain in the basket but take them out of the oil with tongs and place them on paper towels. To omit egg white, try a good egg substitute: 1 tablespoon flax seed powder and 3 tablespoons water equals 1 egg. Garnish with Soyogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
First time I ever tried making falafel, and it turned out so well! I followed the recipe to the letter except I baked them instead of frying. This one's a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I thought this was an easy recipe to follow as it was my first time making falafel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
It smelled great! But we are currently waiting for our pizza to arrive. All the balls disintegrated in the oil. Now, I've never deep fried anything, so I might have done something wrong with the oil, but yeah...what a bust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Easiest Falafel

Make quick-and-easy falafel with common ingredients from your pantry.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States