Jeanie's Falafel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
We loved this super easy recipe...I did add an egg to it though which created the perfect consistency. I also baked the Falafel because we did not want to leave it sitting in the vegetable oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alyssakitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Is your falafel falling apart? Add 1-2 tablespoons of flour and it will be OOOOKAY! Tried this recipe 2 other times and failed, flour was the trick. Did a shallow fry. Great recipe, maybe add 2tbs of lemon juice and another clove or 3 of garlic :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EyesDeLaSea
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I've been making falafels from a box mix for a long time, but I wanted to try a from-scratch version. My family loved this recipe! I used dry garbanzo beans that I prepared myself instead of canned beans. The final mixture was too dry and crumbly to hold together, but I saw that another reviewer had suggested adding an egg. Since I don't use eggs, I added egg replacer instead, and I also added some water. With those additions, the mixture was perfect. To make it healthier, I fried the patties without oil. Big hit. I served them with baba ghanouj, hummus, cucumber dill sauce, homemade pita chips, and salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
The flavor of these are good, but they totally disentergrated when they hit the oil. It was a hot, oily mess!! So I salvaged what I could and baked them off in the oven. Don't use regular vegetable oil! Use a lighter oil like peanut, safflower or even olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyBug80

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Delicious! I didnt have an onion or all of the spices, but the combination still worked out well. I also shaped the falafel into patties and pan-fried them. I added some hot sauce for some flare and they are delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
These were yummy but very messy to make. Everything was neat and tidy until the frying started. I don't have a deep fryer so I used the stove... many of them fell apart during the frying process and I felt like I was losing gold. I'll make a couple of adjustments next time, mainly baking them instead of frying by lining a baking sheet with foil, brushing oil on the sheet/foil, forming small patties instead of balls and brushing the tops with oil. Bake for 15 - 20 minutes, flipping halfway between to prevent burning. Healthier and cleaner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miremba

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Very easy and very delicious! I used a suggestion left by a previous reviewer and added 1 egg white to the mix. I also ended up having to add about 1 tablespoon of water to get the patties to hold together enough to convince me they wouldn't fall apart when I cooked them. They were crispy, crunchy on the outside and soft and flavorful on the inside. Perfect! I HIGHLY recommend this recipe. Throw these on a pita with some thinly sliced red onion, chopped tomato, a little romaine, a sprinkle of feta, and a healthy dollup of tzatziki sauce....YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DownHomeGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
My first time making falafel and it was so easy, and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This was really great. Easy and delicious! My kids all loved this dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Jason Luuuuuves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Easiest Falafel

Make quick-and-easy falafel with common ingredients from your pantry.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States