Jeanie's Falafel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Erninu
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This was my first attempt at making falafel from scratch and it was okay. I think it is probably a great base recipe and I will try it again with seasoning adjustments as I found it a little bland. However, I did bake it instead of fry it and that may have given it less flavor. I added in a mix of 1T ground flax with 3T water as an egg replacer and it held together really well. Thank you for sharing this recipe. I will definitely give it another try one of these days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I was very lucky to fried the first 3 falafels to check how they were coming and I saw my falafels disappearing in front of my eyes... so you MUST add 2 small eggs or the falafels will disappear in the frying process... You also can reduce the salt using only 1/2 of teaspoon... However, the taste is SUPERIOR, the flavors are just perfect...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Delicious. Was made super easy with a little deep fryer my parents had at their place. I added chopped mushrooms, quarter cup fresh parsley, no cilantro, forgot the baking powder, extra turmeric. Yeah, its easier with the mix, but the taste does not compare. I also added the egg to help it stick together. The package stuff is bland and dry, these were nice consistency and lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
These were yummy and easy to make, I would add 1 teaspoon lemon juice and a pinch of cayenne. I enjoyed not adding the egg, but make sure the oil is super hot before putting them in, and let them brown before flipping so they won't fall apart. Also use the sauce (garlic pepper) in the pita with diced tomatoes and lettuce. Definitely make tzatziki sauce (1/2 cup yogurt, 1/2 cup sour cream, peeled-seeded and grated cucumber,2 cloves garlic-minced, 1 tbsp parsley, 1/4 teaspoon salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gabyxxoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
The balls fall apart in the oil. You need an egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Family loved it. Jonathan's favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Very tasty. I substituted 11 1/2 cup fresh bread crumbs instead of dry and they held together very well without having to add any water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
We loved this super easy recipe...I did add an egg to it though which created the perfect consistency. I also baked the Falafel because we did not want to leave it sitting in the vegetable oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alyssakitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Easiest Falafel

Make quick-and-easy falafel with common ingredients from your pantry.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States