Jeanie's Falafel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Delicious! First time, the falafel totally fell apart in the oil :(. So next time I added an egg to the mixture (which helped with the firmness), and after forming the falafel balls, I put them in the fridge for 10-20 mins. Now it's great. Make sure the oil is hot before you start cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I always follow a recipie exactly before making any changes. I really wanted Falafel as I had them recently in a trip to Europe. I cook alot an am always making new things for the family. I had the oil at a hot temperture and they still just fell apart and just literally melted into the oil- the whole mess of oil and falafel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I normally buy boxed falafel but decided to try something new last night, so happy I did!! This recipe is absolutely delicious!!!! The only thing I added was an egg, it did help it from falling apart when frying. Also, it is very important to let the oil reheat between batches. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I used 3/4 cup bread crumbs and subbed Italian seasoning for dried parsley. Also cooked in olive oil to make it healthier. This was fantastic. We eat falafels from box mix or at restaurants, but this is the best I have had. Very easy. I did use a food processor on pulse for the chick peas until very small grain sized chunks but before smooth, then seperately pulsed onion with cilantro, adding to the bowl with mixed dry ingredients. Perfect texture and flavor and so quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Oh holy moly - my first foray into the world o'falafels and I.am.hooked. My husband and I didn't even allow them to make it into the pitas I bought - we just stood at the stove and ate them plain (although I added some tahini to mine towards the end. Yum.) I followed directions almost exactly, just leaving out the cilantro due to a rather picky, cilantro-hating better half (is he really the better half if he hates cilantro? Hehe.) He immediately informed me that these need to make frequent appearances for dinner and then went to the kitchen to scrounge the leftover crumbs left on the plate. I already want to make them again. Like, tonight, less than 24 hours after my inaugural batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Loved this recipe! First time I tried making homemade falafel, and I will definitely keep this one. I added 1/2 cup of water to help it stick together, but that was the only thing I changed. I also followed someone else's suggestion of mixing mayo & Sriracha sauce (a.k.a. rooster sauce) for dipping, which was great, but the falafel was flavorful enough to eat plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
These are really good. If you find your falafel falls apart when you try to fry it, put the dough in the fridge for a few hours and then roll and fry. You can also roll them in a little flour, too, which helps them hold their shape in the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Very good in taste, but mine wouldn't stay together, and I didn't fry them . . .I used my slow cooker (seriously, it works). Still tasty, and worth making but I have to agree that it needs an egg. (I added water instead when it seemed crumbly bc I didn't want to add an egg, but that didn't work very well). how to make them okay for people who can't have eggs or are vegan or whatever, I can't say, but I'll try an egg next time. otherwise, very nice flavor and a good falafel. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Amazing falafel! Sometimes, if the mixture is not sticking very well, I just add a little bit of water. I also have used this same recipe and baked them in the oven at 350 for 10 minutes on both sides and it was fantastic. Just have to make the balls more as patties so they cook all the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
The mix was easy to prepare, and I always appreciate eggless recipes. But unfortunately, they fell apart in the oil. I've tried this twice, and it happened both times. In reading the reviews, I'm clearly not the only one who had this problem. So, perhaps this is an issue that should be addressed somewhere in the instructions -- how do you prevent them from falling apart?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sns

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Easiest Falafel

Make quick-and-easy falafel with common ingredients from your pantry.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States