Jeanie's Falafel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Great recipe! I used a 15 oz can of garbanzo beans because that is all that I could find. I kept the spices pretty much the same, and used just a bit less onion and bread crumbs. I baked the falafel instead of frying. I just put olive oil on a pan, brushed the tops of the falafel with olive oil and baked at 375 for 12 minutes on each side. Came out delicious! I served them with pita, tzatziki sauce, onion, spinach, and tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
These tasted delicious, however, I had to add a little bit of flour to keep them from falling apart. Other than that, I made as stated. Would make again...with the addition of a little flour. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Nope. Didn't work. Too dry, and too much cumin. I added an egg and it still didn't help. Will try adding much less bread crumbs and see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Excellent recipe for falafel. I have tried the dried mix a few times in the past. Disaster... never again. Nothing compares to fresh I have to admit I added an egg white to the mix and this made it a 4 star with fresh parsley. Second round I added a tsp of fresh lemon juice and halved the amount of homemade breadcrumbs. Great recipe. Served on a fresh naan with some parsley tomato cucumber mix and a yoghurt lemon dill dressing ... delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Very good! Add the egg, no problem with it falling apart. Served with tzaziki from the Greek Souvlaki recipe with some suggested modifications
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
They fell apart in the oil. I wish I had read the one star reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
OMG I made this tonight and it was so good! I pretty much stuck to the recipe with a few minor adjustments - I sautéed the onion, garlic and added jalapeno. I added 2 eggs to the mix. I baked them at 350 for about 8 mins on each side! Served them in pita pockets with hummus, tomatoes, cucumber, and carrot match sticks. SO GOOD! This is going to be a staple meal in my recipe box from now on :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Tasty, but fell apart and became mush
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Tasted great, but even adding water to get them to hold together didn't save my falafel - they fell apart in the deep fryer. We salvaged what we could and ate that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Excellent! I added lemon juice to moisten and instead of frying I lightly sautéed in a shallow pan with 2 tbsp oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sean's Falafel and Cucumber Sauce

Simple and quick recipe to prepare that delivers lots of Mediterranean flavors.

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Easiest Falafel

Make quick-and-easy falafel with common ingredients from your pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States