Jbird's Authentic Sweet Vinegar BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Here's the deal -- there's WAAAY to much salt, red pepper, and black pepper in the recipe. Almost like it was a misprint?? Anyway, I used 1/2 the amount of red pepper and 1/4 amount of salt & black pepper. Great sauce, very sweet/salty/vinegery, I live in NC and this is just like the vinegary based sauces I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnmuhl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
Wonderful! I made this to go along with some pork spare ribs we had in the freezer and it was WONDERFUL!! I added brown sugar and cut back the salt & pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I reduced the servings in half and then used Catalina salad dressing in place of the ketchup. Sweetened up and took some bite out of the pepper that way. It was really good on chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
This is NOT NC eastern style BBQ sauce! Eastern style would NEVER add that much sugar/honey NOR ketchup. At best, this would be the Lexington style BBQ sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
Pepper was overpowering. I'm all for a tangy, spicy sauce but this tasted ONLY of black and red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Great vinegar based recipe! I've made it about 4-5 times now. Thia last time, I changed up the recipe a bit and added burbon and brown sugar, and slightly decreased the amount of peppers and salt. The original recipe has a heavy kick (clears your sinuses!), but with the brown sugar, it wasn't quite as spicy. I use it to poor over shredded pork butt that I cook in the crockpot all day. Thanks Jbird! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
I made it this weekend and it was so salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I use this recipe as a "base" to add other ingredients. I think the salt and pepper measurements must be wrong--4 cups of liquid yet 1/4 cup black pepper and 1/2 cup salt? Sounds like that would choke a horse ;) I use the 3 cups apple cider vinegar, ketchup, throw in some salt, pepper, red pepper flakes and use honey or molasses depending on what I have on hand. I use this as the liquid to cook my pork in a slow cooker. Our family loves it and uses this recipe to create their own sauce by adding ingredients that they like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
I cut the salt in half. I added 1/4 cup of mollases
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
this is no way sweet and no way north carolina bbq. this is way too hot and too much pepper a real disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States