Jazzy Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I'm a big fan of this recipe. When people invite me to holiday dinner parties, I'm expected to bring this dish. I change the recipe a little, adding a half pound of crisp, crumbled bacon, sauteeing a cup or so of minced onion and fresh minced garlic instead of the dried stuff, and using pepper jack cheese instead of cheddar. It's unusual to have any left over after the carnage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This is a wonderful side dish. I followed the suggestions of "pinewood" and added about 1/2 pound of cooked crumpled bacon. I also sauteed about 1/2 cup of minced onion and 4 cloves of garlic instead of the dried stuff. I also added a jalepeno pepper seeded and finely chopped to give it a little spice since I did not have any spicy cheese. My whole family loved it. We will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
What I liked about this is that this is not your typical green bean casserole. This was great and easy to make. I was a little hesitate when I saw corn as the ingredients but this turned out delicious. The corn and cheese are an added zip. One thing I did different was add some of the fried onion into the mix to give it a little crunch and there was still plenty left for the topping. Rave reviews - will definetly make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
I have made this recipe again and again - it has become a favourite among my family and friends. It is the most requested side dish I make. In lieu of white corn, I will add whatever I have on hand - usually frozen yellow corn or even frozen mixed vegetables (peas, carrots, corn and beans). I use onion powder if I don't have onion flakes on hand and it's just as tasty. Also, I use 2 cans of french fried onions as they seem to be a favourite topping. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
Wonderful recipe, easy to prepare. Even a novice cook as myself was able to make wonderful this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I'm not a huge fan of green bean casserole but this was really good. I liked the addition of the corn and cheese. Reheated it was a bit greasy from the cheese, but it was still very good. I stirred in some of the French's onions and then also topped the casserole with them. I omitted the salt because the onions are so salty and I was glad I did. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
I made this for a family dinner, and it was a big hit. A different take on an old standard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saugus, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Wonderful, I used frozen green beans and corn instead of canned also added fresh mushrooms. Out goes all other green bean casserole recipes, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
This was pretty good. We didn't "love" it but it was a nice change from the standard green been casserole - and I can definitely see using other veggies in it. The only thing I did differently was use onion powder instead of the minced onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States