Jazzed Up Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
When done right in a non-stick pan this is super easy for clean up and if you follow the couscous box instructions the couscous should be the perfect consistency. You need to first bring the water, 2 tsp butter, and the seasonin gpacket if there is one in the box to a boil. Then you add the couscous, stir and let sit covered for at least 5 minutes. Cheddar cheese tastes the best and if the tomatoes reduce to a thicker consistency you get a lot more flavor. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
My daughter called and wanted something quick to do with a box of plain couscous. I got on here and this came up so I read it to her and since she had all of the ingredients on hand, she decided to give it a whirl. She just called me back and was very pleased with the results. She said that she did not need any seasonings or anything b/c the tomatoes and cheese gave it plenty of flavor. She will make this one again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Daughter ate for lunch next 2 days and said she would like this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
I just loved this! I maybe doubled up a bit on the recipe for taste value, but just awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by supergimpman4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Carroll, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
I made a few changes but overall this receipe very tasty! Instead of water, I used garlic chicken broth. Not bland at all!Served with Mediterranean chicken with olives & feta.My husband liked it,too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zippyy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
This was very good. I used two Roma tomatoes because they were quite large and green scallions fresh out of the garden. Also I chopped up some fresh basil. I always use chicken broth to cook my couscous because it adds flavor to it. I used cheddar cheese because that is what I had on hand. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This was pretty good. I couldn't taste the cheese at all. I think next time I'll add lemon juice and use 1 cup of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This was my first couscous recipe and I really liked it. It's a wonderful foundation for a recipe. I added mushrooms, asparagus, kernel corn, veggie broth (no sodium/gluten free instead of water) and some celery too. Spices and herbs, I've added sage, rosemary, oregano, marjoram, Cajun spices, chipotle and a little bit of turmeric.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexandra

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I liked the fresh tomatoes in here, and also appreciated how you could use this recipe to breath new life into leftover couscous. I used chicken broth to prepare my couscous and did not find it "smothers your tongue in flavor" even with that change. Next time I'll play with herbs and spices in the oil with the tomatoes/onions/garlic. I may even try throwing a handful of chopped bacon in with the onions and nix the olive oil... but I'm decadent like that. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Used canned tomatoes with garlic and peppers, plus a little extra diced garlic. As with other viewers, I used canned chicken stock to cook the couscous. I used cheese that I had on hand rather than the pepper jack and it still turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Israeli Couscous and Cheese

Check out this deliciously different take on mac and cheese.

Couscous Primavera

See how to make a fast and easy side dish with spring veggies.

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

See how to make healthy, flavorful shrimp and veggie couscous.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States