Jazzed Up Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
When done right in a non-stick pan this is super easy for clean up and if you follow the couscous box instructions the couscous should be the perfect consistency. You need to first bring the water, 2 tsp butter, and the seasonin gpacket if there is one in the box to a boil. Then you add the couscous, stir and let sit covered for at least 5 minutes. Cheddar cheese tastes the best and if the tomatoes reduce to a thicker consistency you get a lot more flavor. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
I made a few changes but overall this receipe very tasty! Instead of water, I used garlic chicken broth. Not bland at all!Served with Mediterranean chicken with olives & feta.My husband liked it,too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zippyy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
I doubled the onion, garlic, tomatoes and cheese. After tasting it, it was still bland so I added salt, pepper and a sprinkle of red pepper flakes. With the modifications, this was good and my husband enjoyed it. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Only giving 4 stars since my son (8) tried to pick out all the tomatoes! Used 1-1/2c cous cous, 1-1/2c boiling water with 1 tbsp chicken base added. Sauteed 1/2 of a finely-minced onion with tomatoes, added 1/2 can of drained, sliced black olives; used 2 oz goat cheese I had leftover, and 2 slices cheddar cheese crumbled up. The tomatoes made it festive, and the black olives and goat cheese were very nice together. Will make again, next time using finely chopped zucchini & yellow squash with the tomatoes for color. Thanks for the post, it was very easy to make with only 15 mins til the main course was ready!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
This was a good recipe, considering I have never attempted to make couscous before. I added some fresh basil from my garden and salt and pepper to taste. The kids gobbled it up....with 2nd and third helpings! Very easy weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrookeVT
Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
This turned out to be very good when I combined advice of other raters. I used chicken broth instead of water, and added butter to the couscous as directed on the box. Now my husband and kids will eat couscous! Thanks for the great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake In The Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by monoceros002
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
overall it was easy to make although a a bit bland for my taste. i did add mushrooms, maybe some hot sauce added will liven it up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
As written, I'd have to give this three stars b/c it was just too bland for my taste. I made this a second time and, to bring in more flavor, added 1tsp each of cumin and cayenne pepper and added salt to taste to the boiling water before I mixed the couscous in. This gave more flavor to my couscous. I added double the amount of garlic and a whole onion to the tomatoes. After I mixed the couscous with the tomato mixture I added about 3 tbsp of lemon juice. With those changes the dish improved significantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I had some leftover plain couscous that was dry as a bone... looking for a way to reuse it that I could actually eat, I tried this - I used canned tomatoes since that's all I had, and added a can of mild green chilis. It was good. A huge step up from bone-dry leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Israeli Couscous and Cheese

Check out this deliciously different take on mac and cheese.

Couscous Primavera

See how to make a fast and easy side dish with spring veggies.

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

See how to make healthy, flavorful shrimp and veggie couscous.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States