Jazzed Up Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
This had no tast. thow it was quik it was also verry messy and took longer to clean than make and eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
When done right in a non-stick pan this is super easy for clean up and if you follow the couscous box instructions the couscous should be the perfect consistency. You need to first bring the water, 2 tsp butter, and the seasonin gpacket if there is one in the box to a boil. Then you add the couscous, stir and let sit covered for at least 5 minutes. Cheddar cheese tastes the best and if the tomatoes reduce to a thicker consistency you get a lot more flavor. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
My daughter called and wanted something quick to do with a box of plain couscous. I got on here and this came up so I read it to her and since she had all of the ingredients on hand, she decided to give it a whirl. She just called me back and was very pleased with the results. She said that she did not need any seasonings or anything b/c the tomatoes and cheese gave it plenty of flavor. She will make this one again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by BSGfood
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
this couscous was ok. it certainly doesn't live up to its name. it was very dull in taste and apperance. to "up" the taste i would recommend putting in less couscous and more tomatoes. a little salt and pepper and EXTRA cheese spruced this dish up quite nicley. fast and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BSGfood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Was not bad but was bland. Seasoning with salt and pepper helped. I also added extra cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
I made a few changes but overall this receipe very tasty! Instead of water, I used garlic chicken broth. Not bland at all!Served with Mediterranean chicken with olives & feta.My husband liked it,too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zippyy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
So, so bland! I added a lot of salt and pepper and some cayenne pepper to make it not taste so bland. Definitely not making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CuisineGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
This turned out to be very good when I combined advice of other raters. I used chicken broth instead of water, and added butter to the couscous as directed on the box. Now my husband and kids will eat couscous! Thanks for the great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake In The Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
This was a good recipe, considering I have never attempted to make couscous before. I added some fresh basil from my garden and salt and pepper to taste. The kids gobbled it up....with 2nd and third helpings! Very easy weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrookeVT
Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Only giving 4 stars since my son (8) tried to pick out all the tomatoes! Used 1-1/2c cous cous, 1-1/2c boiling water with 1 tbsp chicken base added. Sauteed 1/2 of a finely-minced onion with tomatoes, added 1/2 can of drained, sliced black olives; used 2 oz goat cheese I had leftover, and 2 slices cheddar cheese crumbled up. The tomatoes made it festive, and the black olives and goat cheese were very nice together. Will make again, next time using finely chopped zucchini & yellow squash with the tomatoes for color. Thanks for the post, it was very easy to make with only 15 mins til the main course was ready!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Israeli Couscous and Cheese

Check out this deliciously different take on mac and cheese.

Couscous Primavera

See how to make a fast and easy side dish with spring veggies.

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

See how to make healthy, flavorful shrimp and veggie couscous.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States