Jazzed Up Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
The original recipe was a bit bland for me, so I jazzed it up a little more by making the couscous with chicken broth and switching the cheese to Pepper Jack - now it's a meal my husband and I both love for a simple, quick main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I made this for my very picky husband and he gobbled it up! I added 2 chicken boulon cubes to the water with the couscous. I've made couscous with only water before and it turns out very tasteless, I'll never make it without chicken broth or boulon again. I also added Zuchini with the vegetables which added another demention of flavor and color. This is a tasty, easy, quick recipe that's great for quick work night dinner or a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Tasty, but we added MUCH more garlic (I think it was four cloves) to the recipe for more flavor. Adding a little bit of paprika and a chili or two adds a bit of zest as well. We like our food spicy, so adding just a bit kicked it up just enough! Great base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I used chicken broth and also added chicken pieces and zuchini. The recipe was still bland. once I added a bit of soy sauce it got better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Used canned tomatoes with garlic and peppers, plus a little extra diced garlic. As with other viewers, I used canned chicken stock to cook the couscous. I used cheese that I had on hand rather than the pepper jack and it still turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I liked the fresh tomatoes in here, and also appreciated how you could use this recipe to breath new life into leftover couscous. I used chicken broth to prepare my couscous and did not find it "smothers your tongue in flavor" even with that change. Next time I'll play with herbs and spices in the oil with the tomatoes/onions/garlic. I may even try throwing a handful of chopped bacon in with the onions and nix the olive oil... but I'm decadent like that. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2009
This was very good. I used two Roma tomatoes because they were quite large and green scallions fresh out of the garden. Also I chopped up some fresh basil. I always use chicken broth to cook my couscous because it adds flavor to it. I used cheddar cheese because that is what I had on hand. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
I doubled the onion, garlic, tomatoes and cheese. After tasting it, it was still bland so I added salt, pepper and a sprinkle of red pepper flakes. With the modifications, this was good and my husband enjoyed it. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
healthy and delicious, except I added a teaspoon of salt to the mix...it will be too bland without it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I had some leftover plain couscous that was dry as a bone... looking for a way to reuse it that I could actually eat, I tried this - I used canned tomatoes since that's all I had, and added a can of mild green chilis. It was good. A huge step up from bone-dry leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Israeli Couscous and Cheese

Check out this deliciously different take on mac and cheese.

Couscous Primavera

See how to make a fast and easy side dish with spring veggies.

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

See how to make healthy, flavorful shrimp and veggie couscous.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States