Jay's Signature Pizza Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2002
Pretty darn good! If you aren't baking on a pizza stone, you should pre-bake it a little before putting on toppings or the middle will be under-done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
862 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zary125

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2004
Jay thank you so much for an EXCELLENT thick, pan type pizza crust, that was crisp on the outside and chewy/tender on the inside! The only personal perference additions I did were: I added Italian Seasoning, garlic powder and onion powder along with the salt/oil. And I baked them for 10 minutes prior to adding the toppings in a 12 inch cake pan and 12 inch cast iron skillet, that were both olive oiled WELL, and dusted with yellow cornmeal. They came out of the pan very easy onto the cutting board. It was easy to make this. Just have to adjust weather and flour consistency to the stickiness of the dough. Some days need less, some days need MUCH more. Adding about a 1/2 cup grated parmasean cheese to the dough is great with the seasonings. I never roll the dough out, I just use my hands and flatten it in the bottom of the pans, working up the sides Also sometimes string cheese rolled in the crust makes the kids happy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
725 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bedford, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
I had been looking for a pizza crust similar to Pizza Hut pan style and this is the closest and best so far! It definitly makes 2 crusts unless you have a huge pizza pan. And the trick to getting a crisp bottom on your crust is to bake it on a lower rack in your oven so your crust bakes before your toppings burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
656 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
I made this dough in my bread machine and it came out perfectly. The crust is crunchy on the outside and soft and tender on the inside. I did bake the crust about ten minutes before adding toppings and divided the dough to make smaller pizzas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
310 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2002
My God, could there be a better pizza dough recipe out there thats as easy as this??? I have never made pizza dough from scratch before, and after the success of this pizza, I wont be buying another premade pizza again! WOW that was easy and tasted AWESOME. I just melted butter garlic and poured it on the pizza and added cheese, it was a great addition to my italian dinner without the hassle of baking a loaf of bread. I cant imagine how good that pizza could be with all the toppings! If you are thinking about this recipe, dont hessitate, add this to your recipe box now and get it over with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
269 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
I tried this crust last night and was very pleasantly surprised. I kneaded it with the dough hook on my stand mixture and left the dough slightly sticky to acheive a more tender crust. I rose beautifully and was very easy to stretch into two medium pizzas. I baked the pizzas on a pizza stone preheated for an hour at 500 degrees. They baked in about 8 minutes. The bottom of the crust was very crunchy (but not burnt) and the edges were nice and soft. I've had problems with tough crusts in the past, but this one was nice and tender. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
252 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
This recipe is perfect.I made the full recipe but I seperated in half and made the 2nd off on the 2dn day. I used my pizza stone and prebaked the crust for about 10 mins. at 325. then I put the toppings on. The crust needs a little something so i brushed it the second day with an mixture of olive oil and garlic powder. It rises amazing! and it tastes like real pizza crust. My husband loved it and I think from now on I will make my own dough because it is sooo easy and much cheaper than buying the frozen ones. I can't wait to make it again! Thanks JAY! Anna
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winchester, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
I have been looking for a nice home made crust recipe after being disappointed by bobili, and pilsbury crusts. This recipe was very good and fairly easy to make. I added some fresh garlic to the top. As others noted this makes a large pizza. Next time I will make 2 smaller ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2002
My husband and I enjoyed this crust very much. I added a little garlic and onion powder to the mix and put it in the bread machine. I baked it on my pizza stone and it was perfect. It was crusty and chewy on the outside and soft and yummy on the inside. It made two large sized thin pizzas. We have plenty for dinner today, too!!his may be the recipe we use for all our pizza!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2001
I had never made homemade pizza dough before I tried this recipe. Surprisingly -- it was very easy and fun to make. The pizzas came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,959) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jay’s Signature Pizza Crust

You’re going to love this 5-star recipe for homemade pizza crust.

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States