Jay's Jerk Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
This was good, but I don't know if it's special enough to make again. I also marinated zucchini and red bell peppers and grilled them, and that was good as well. I put the chicken in one resealable bag for marinating and the veggies in another, and I had more marinade than I needed. If I were just making the chicken and planning to marinate in the bag, I could cut the recipe in half. You might need that much marinade if you're marinating in a bowl, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
Making the marinade was a bit tedious and I was excited with the interesting mix of spices and jalepeno. I hoped it was worth it. Alas, it wasn't a hit with my family and the leftover chicken sat for days is the fridge until I begged my husband to take it for a lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ad-lib Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Excellent! I make this with 2-4 chicken breasts and broil for 10 min on each side in the oven at 400 degrees. I add an extra jalapeño with the seeds since I like it spicy. I sauté one chopped onion and 2 peppers in olive oil while the chicken is cooking and mix with the leftover marinade bring to a simmer and serve on top of basmati rice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I thought this was wonderful. I was worried about it being too spicy so I used a very small pepper and now realize I should have used a much bigger one. It wasn't spicy at all, but it was absolutely delicious! I served it with brown rice and black beans. My husband had seconds and packed up the rest for the following day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
We just came back from Jamaica and this is still one of my favorite jerk chickens!! I did use reduced sodium soy sauce and a large shallot for the onion =) Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
This was a great recipe and I will definitely make it again. I used only the green onion and the flavour was outstanding. Next time I make it, I will include some of the jalapeno seeds to spice it up a bit more. I can't take the heat of a scotch bonnet as some have recommended. I don't usually rate recipes, especially if I don't follow them exactly, but this one was totally worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Can't get enough of this fantastic marinade. As another reviewer suggested, I add a kiwi when I blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Make it per the recipe except I used chicken leg and thigh quarters. Delicious to me and five star. My family liked it too but not as much as me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I marinated this overnight and broiled it 10 minutes per side instead of grilling. I really don't mind the marinate but this definitely is not the typical jerk taste. The seasonings reminded me of adobo. I would definitely use a dry rub if you wanted a more authentic taste of jerk chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Outstanding flavor! I let the chicken sit in the marinade for approximately 7 hours and wow, it was packed with flavor. My kids said best chicken they ever had…highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 477) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

Chef John's Jerk Chicken Wings

Caramelized chicken wings marinated in spicy Jamaican jerk seasonings.

Marinated Grilled Chicken II

Simple recipe that helps combat dry chicken blues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States