Jay's Jerk Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly and I didn't find it to be anything special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Excellent dish it was fast prep time and very flavorable. Just change the peppers I used from the supper hot to the california peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I prepared this dish for my husband who loves Jamaican Jerk Chicken. It did not come out so great. I fare pretty well in the kitchen but this was NOTHING like what we experience when we visited Jamaica. The marinade was not hot and spicy and soooo WET! After marinating for 2 FULL days it had a mild kick. I did use Jalapeno peppers (with seeds, understanding that is where the heat is). This dish did NOT come out as expected. I was disappointed! I don't think I'll be trying this recipe again BUT if I do I'll try the habanero peppers and maybe reduce some of the liquids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BSpratt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This was made for my son's Jamaican themed 14th birthday party. I don't know how traditional this recipe is, but it made some darn fine chicken. We used all the chicken parts instead of just boneless breasts. I think the boneless breasts would be way too mushy and salty if left overnight in the marinade. My personal preference would be for more spice, but the onion flavor was perfect. We had a bunch left over, because we always make too much food at parties. It freezes extremely well and we had it again for dinner a week later. Reheated very easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This is a great recipe....blows my old recipe out of the water. I actually keep the seeds in and use a couple jalapenos for more heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I loved this! I used pork instead of chicken and added a couple minced garlic cloves. I found it a little salty so will use reduced sodium soy sauce the next time, but otherwise this was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
This recipe was really good. My kids complained it was too spicy for them. But my husband and I enjoyed the heat. I did use a medium jalapeno and left the seeds in. I followed other peoples suggestion to boil the marinade down until it was thicker and used this to pour over the rice, pineapple, and black beans I had made as a side. I then cut the chicken up into bite sized pieces and place that on top of the rice mixture. The pineapple worked wonderfully to counter the spiciness of the sauce. I cooked our chicken on a George Foreman grill but I think it would be better on a regular grill to get that smokey flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
This recipe was a great success among my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fatima E

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I honeymooned in Jamaica 5 years ago, and my heart (and tummy, after I finished dinner) smiled so big while eating this meal b/c I was flooded w/ fond beach memories. This marinade recipe will forever replace any generic Jerk seasoning mixes or sauces in my cooking. My only suggestion is to either scale the recipe back if using 1.5 lbs chicken, or marinate additional chicken, as it makes alot. I ended up refrigerating about 1/2 of the marinade to use on chicken (or maybe pork chops?) later this week when I need to bring some more Jamaican wonderfulness into my kitchen again. I served it w/ tostones (recipe from here -- another winner) and coconut rice. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
This is a fantasic recipe...plain, pure and simple! Thanks for a great recipe that I will definately make over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 480) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

Chef John's Jerk Chicken Wings

Caramelized chicken wings marinated in spicy Jamaican jerk seasonings.

Marinated Grilled Chicken II

Simple recipe that helps combat dry chicken blues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States