Jay's Jerk Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Highly recommended - definitely will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Davidson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I made this for my family and they LOVED it! The changes I made were: no jalapeno pepper, I used chicken breasts, thighs and wings, and after marinating over night I cooked them for one hour covered at 375 and then uncovered, put more marinade on and broiled them on high until they started to blacken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
After reading all of the reviews, I was sure that I would have a party in my mouth as well. The flavor was fresh and different which was neat; however, the chicken was very dry. I am not sure to as why my the sauce would not crisp either and I set mine out over night for a more intense flavor. I am sure this turned out better for others than for me since I am still an amateur at all this. Sadly, I do not think I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenG8984

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Franklin, Indiana, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
With all the great reviews, I had high hopes for this recipe. Followed all directions, added a couple cloves of garlic and a kiwi, let marinate for 6 hours then grill. Not impressed. Tasted like salty chicken with some strange flavor I couldn't pinpoint. Hubby wasn't impressed, either. Not horrible, but this won't make it into my recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Very good!!! I used apple cider vinegar and added some honey, ground ginger and fresh lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I changed the recipe a little. I switched the amount of soy sauce and vinegar. So I used 3/4 vinegar and 1/2 c low sodium soy and added 8 cloves of garlic, Tablespoon of pepper and salt. the reduction of soy sauce helps get rid of the that bottled jerk marinade taste. I made this recipe twice once in the oven and once grilled with wood chips. I think grilling really helps with that "authentic" jerk taste. Regardless if you cook in the oven or on a grill be sure to reserve some marinade and brush periodically throughout the cooking process it definitely helps with flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Largo, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Delicious- and perfect with the bean and corn salad, and some mango chutney, grilled zucchini, and a Full Sail Lager Ale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I followed this to the letter aside from replacing the vegetable oil with olive oil, and I can say that this doesn't taste at all like real Jerk Chicken. It is quite good, however and my husband says we need to make it again. If you're looking for a yummy grilling marinade, this is a good choice but look elsewhere if you want real Carribean-esque Jerk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I was really disappointed. This tasted just ok, but didn't look or taste anything like the jerk chicken I had at Sandals in Jamaica. I've tried several different recipes and even pre-mix jerk, but I just can't find it. This recipe was definitely missing something. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I marinated some chicken breasts and cooked them on my charcoal grill over indirect heat for about an hour and they were so moist and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINGQUEEN75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 474) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

Chef John's Jerk Chicken Wings

Caramelized chicken wings marinated in spicy Jamaican jerk seasonings.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States