Jay's Hearty Breakfast Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
I would definitely try this but I think you should rename it Heart Attack Breakfast, thanks, Alan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I really enjoyed this big breakfast for a lazy Sunday! It was tasty and comforting in this cold weather. I used shredded sharp cheddar cheese instead of American cheese though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Tried this for Christmas morning and everyone liked it. I will try this again - with a larger skillet! :) May also try adding some avocado and/or tomatoe as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bjdono
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I made this recipe this morning. Yummy!!!! I didn't add mushrooms because I don't care for them. I used the Kraft four cheeses because that's all I had, other than that, I didn't change the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Great recipe as written however, some other great veggies to try that I didn't see anyone mention; summer squash, i.e. zucchini & yellow squash diced; broccoli slaw; kale. I use any of these that I have on hand in either this dish or 'loaded scrambled eggs'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I have made a similar breakfast for many years except that I whisk the eggs as if to make scrambled eggs then add them to the potatoes mixture in the skillet cover and cook on low till the eggs are almost done then add the cheese of choice and cook covered till the cheese has melted and the eggs are done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Caliente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
This is a dish that my mom made for me when I was little, and I now make it for my family. Because I'm from the south, we smother our potatoes. Cook your bacon or sausage first, set aside and reserve some of the oil to cook your veggies in. Cube potatoes, place them in a cast iron skillet with 2-3 tbsp of the meat grease & your veggies. Start on med-hi heat. Toss veggies to coat with grease, salt and pepper to taste. Cover the skillet with a lid, & turn your heat to med-lo. Turn occasionally to prevent sticking. In about 15-20 minutes, your potatoes should be nice and tender. Place them on a baking sheet. Now make your eggs to your liking. Place your eggs on top of the veggies, add crumbled bacon & shredded cheese. Slide it in the oven for a few minutes to melt the cheese, & that's it. All in all, this meal should only take 30-45 mins to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Our family calls this "South Dakota Breakfast". Everything but the kitchen sink goes in. It's especially good the last morning when camping, to use up all the leftovers. Love this breakfast! Reminds me of my childhood, going to South Dakota to visit my grandparents, aunts, uncles and cousins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santee, California, USA
Living In: Rome, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BevKat
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Nothing to change!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BevKat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Hueneme, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
The BOMB!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States