Jay's Hearty Breakfast Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Bjdono
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I made this recipe this morning. Yummy!!!! I didn't add mushrooms because I don't care for them. I used the Kraft four cheeses because that's all I had, other than that, I didn't change the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Great recipe as written however, some other great veggies to try that I didn't see anyone mention; summer squash, i.e. zucchini & yellow squash diced; broccoli slaw; kale. I use any of these that I have on hand in either this dish or 'loaded scrambled eggs'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I have made a similar breakfast for many years except that I whisk the eggs as if to make scrambled eggs then add them to the potatoes mixture in the skillet cover and cook on low till the eggs are almost done then add the cheese of choice and cook covered till the cheese has melted and the eggs are done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Caliente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
This is a dish that my mom made for me when I was little, and I now make it for my family. Because I'm from the south, we smother our potatoes. Cook your bacon or sausage first, set aside and reserve some of the oil to cook your veggies in. Cube potatoes, place them in a cast iron skillet with 2-3 tbsp of the meat grease & your veggies. Start on med-hi heat. Toss veggies to coat with grease, salt and pepper to taste. Cover the skillet with a lid, & turn your heat to med-lo. Turn occasionally to prevent sticking. In about 15-20 minutes, your potatoes should be nice and tender. Place them on a baking sheet. Now make your eggs to your liking. Place your eggs on top of the veggies, add crumbled bacon & shredded cheese. Slide it in the oven for a few minutes to melt the cheese, & that's it. All in all, this meal should only take 30-45 mins to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Our family calls this "South Dakota Breakfast". Everything but the kitchen sink goes in. It's especially good the last morning when camping, to use up all the leftovers. Love this breakfast! Reminds me of my childhood, going to South Dakota to visit my grandparents, aunts, uncles and cousins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santee, California, USA
Living In: Rome, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
How anyone can eat this much in the morning is beyond me....Dish sounds OK but strictly as a main course!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BevKat
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Nothing to change!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BevKat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Hueneme, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
The BOMB!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I halved the recipe because I only had 4 eggs and it was plenty for 4 people. Used hash browns to save on cooking time like several others and used italian sausage instead of bacon. What fun to experiment with the variety of ingredients that could be used in this fun and hearty breakfast. I put the eggs on top of the whole 'mess' and covered the skillet. The eggs turned out sunnyside up and the presentation was restaurant-worthy. I agree with other reviewers who used cheddar cheese rather than American. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECINC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Living In: Barrington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Loved this recipe, it is a keeper! I made just a couple of changes. I used sausage instead of bacon. I sauteed my veggies at the same time I cooked my sausage so they would be more tender. I also added a little of minced garlic to the skillet. We will be having this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States