Jayme's Cole Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
This is a very simple cole slaw. I am using to top NC style pulled pork bbq sandwiches and needed a slaw to whip up on my lunch break from work. It has the perfect taste and texture for what I am using it for. At first, the color kind of set me back (I'm from VA, cole slaw is white there), but it will go well with the vinegary bbq. I followed another reviewers advice, used a bag of the preshredded cabbage and halved the recipe. Perfect. I added maybe another tablespoon of mayo to thicken it up a little, but other than that the flavor is great. It will be amazing once it's chilled. For the record, anytime I make a salad (potato, macaroni, pasta, slaw) it always needs to chill for awhile. If anyone is trying this recipe without chilling it first and giving it a bad review, then try it again and let it sit for awhile. The flavors need to blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilmarnock, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Turned out great. Made with just picked Cabbage. didn't have celery seeds tho. will add this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
I thought this was waaaaaaaay too vinegar-y. Next time, I'll try about half the vinegar - it would probably come out creamier (it was too soupy), too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Very tangy coleslaw. Very good on barbecued pork sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
This was a tad sweet - next time I'll cut down on the sugar. That said, everyone at the table enjoyed it and I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
I wanted a change from the savory cole slaw I regularly make, so I decided to try Jayme's recipe. Great choice! SUPER simple and very tasty. I used malt vinegar instead, because it's all I had on hand, and I added a bit of coarsely ground black pepper. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
I used a 14 ounce bag of Dole Classic Cole slaw with HALF of the recipe for the dressing. It turned out PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slmcm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
This slaw is SWEET (tasting, I mean)...little too much for me, but the hubby liked it fine. Will make again, but will cut back on the brown sugar & cider vinegar a bit. Also, I liked the ease of preparation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina B. Cookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: York, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I was searching for recipes that use raw apple cider vinegar—it's such a healthy food to add to your diet—and came across this. It probably would have been great following the recipe exactly, but I made the following changes: - To make it healthier, I used 1/4 cup mayo and 1/4 cup plain yogurt. - I used both red and white cabbage, as I like the spiciness and color of the red. - I added 1 green onion, 1 carrot, and 2 banana peppers for color and flavor. It was very good; I'd definitely make it again. By the way, I disagree with some of the previous posters about cutting back the amount of vinegar—I didn't find the amount overwhelming at all, and I think it would likely have been bland with less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
Good, easy recipe. I used light mayo and a bit less sugar. I will try the splenda the next time. Also added raisens which are a favorite at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States