Javi's Really Real Mexican Ceviche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I made this for a big party and it was a complete hit. I left out the scallops and made 1/4 of the recipe. I like my ceviche a little sweet, so I added 3 tablespoons of ketchup and a pinch of Penzy's Chipotle Powder. It was delish! I will make this one again and again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
We used 2 lbs shrimp and 3 lbs talapia to cut on cost, but other than that we followed the recipe and loved it. We cut the shrimp and fish into smaller than bite sized pieces before adding the lime and lemon juice, so it cooked very quickly, an hour was more than adequit. We brought this to a party, hoping to munch on left overs for dinner and came home with an empty bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Outstanding! Had family come up from Mexico, and they cleaned out the bowl. Served them on Tostadas with Avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
ABSOLUTELY DELISH!!! Because of what I had read on the Food Network site, I did dunk my shrimp in boiling water for just a second and then immediately put them in ice water. I also added a diced avocado just before serving so that it wouldn't get too mushed up. Everything else I did be the recipe and it was the hit of the party. I have already been asked to bring this to our July 4th Bash---a double batch! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skeller311

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
Tasty - I lightened-up on the serranos (not all like it hot, put on the side). 1-2 Avocado - chop (stir-in) or slice (goes on top) ; and, Use less lime (used bottled) and more lemon and that's what worked for me! This Guera got a request for a 2nd batch and was told it was the best they've ever had, by those who make/eat this frequently!!!!!! Javi your recipe ROCKS!!!!!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Now this is an authentic recipe! I love that you mixed the serrano and the jalapeno peppers together, it makes it much more interesting. :) My mexican husband gives this the thumbs up! Really yummy served with cold Coronas and tapatio on top! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
A keeper. Very good ceviche recipe. I did add chunks of fish to this and hot sauce, which added a nice kick! I love ceviche. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This is a wonderful BASE recipe- I adjusted the amount of shrimp. I used about 1 1/2# shrimp and 1/2# bay scallops. The lemon and lime juice should also cover the seafood for at least an hour before adding the other ingredients to be sure they get "cooked" enough. Left overs the next day were good, but the shrimp got "tougher" after sitting in the lime juice so long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Delicious & easy to make but the marinating time was way off; after 5+ hrs my 2 lbs of shrimp & scallop combined had to be brought up to "cooked" on the stovetop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This was a complete waste of expensive seafood. It takes a whole lot longer than 1 hour for the shrimp and scallops to "cook" in the lime juice and since I listened to this recipe they never fully finished since everything else was already added. This recipe might work if you get pre-cooked seafood, but if you don't then you have to soak the seafood overnight in just lime juice before adding everything else. The 1 hour is very misleading and inaccurate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Ceviche

Delicious, refreshing Mexican seafood appetizer that’s bright with flavor.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States