Javi's Really Real Mexican Ceviche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Excellent recipe but if you want to kick it up a notch, add some "Clamato juice" and some chopped avocados. Happy, happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I don't know how this can cook in one hour? Mine was entirely raw on the inside - I had to microwave it. I think you need at least 4-5 hours and I also think you need way more lemons and limes than he recommends - all the fish has to be covered in juice. Four limes and one lemon doesn't seem anywhere close to enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Okay, I became too nervous about eating raw shrimp and let this sit overnight. It should not have come as a surprise to have found myself with a big bowl of rubbery shrimp in the morning. It was still pretty good but the consistency was pretty tough. 2ND TRY: I did it again and once again, the shrimp did not "cook" even after it sat for 5 hours. So, I removed all of the shrimp and separated the chopped veggies from the lime juice. Then I dropped the shrimp into boiling water until they were pink (45 - 60 seconds), transferred them to the chilled lime juice for a couple of minutes, and mixed them back up with the veggies. Next time, I'll start by boiling the raw shrimp first, then I'll let everything soak for a while! It's a tasty meal but jeez-louise! What a hassle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Snyder, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I made this on Christmas and it was the hit of the day, definately restaurant style, loved it. Will definately make this for parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
This wasn't bad. My neighbors recipe is a little better. I did add some avacado for another added texture and flavor...all in all it was decent and easy enough to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Nealy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Douglass, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Fantastic! I substituted the shrimp and scallops with fresh wild tuna and my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
I love this....I make it without seafood as well just to have a light dinner. I serve all the veggies on a tostada (hard fried corn tortilla). I also add a few TBLS of clamato rather than olive oil. I omit the peppers because I don't like them but this is s delicious meal and very healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judith2U

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
4 stars for the taste ! This is a seafood cocktail not ceviche. Ceviche you grind up or chop up real fine, let it marinate for 24 hours or so. Had the right ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I think the recipe's ingredient list is right, but from the other comments it's seems many people have trouble with the instructions. My fish did "cook" in the lime overnight. I refrigerated fresh cod cubes in key lime juice for 24 hours. My mistake was the "key." Key limes are too limey. I did drain out the excess juice before adding the other ingredients, but perhaps I should have rinsed a bit. Next time I try I'll do the extra work and use fresh squeezed juice from regular limes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Bull Radoff

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Southborough, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I am sure this would have been delicious ceviche, unfortunately, I followed the recipe as-is, and my seafood NEVER "cooked", not even overnight and I ended up wasting what would have been otherwise good seafood. You should cut the seafood pretty small, and/or let sit in the lime juice much longer before adding the other ingredients, and/or poach the seafood a little bit before adding. Either way, this was a major disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Ceviche

Delicious, refreshing Mexican seafood appetizer that’s bright with flavor.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States