Javi's Really Real Mexican Ceviche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I rate this 2 stars because he made this dish more complicated than it really is. I am Mexican and I've had this dish before this is not considered ceviche its actually called aguachile. Its simple and tasty. No need for one lemon just limes. Scallops can be left out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alba

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VictoriaSe49896
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Made this tonight and it turned out well. I found that this needed more lemon/lime in order to "cook" and as some other reviews have mentioned it needed quite a bit longer before it was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
This was delicious. The shrimp weren't fully opaque after nearly two hours, so I cut them in half--I'll start the process that way next time. Regardless of any substitutions for the seafood, be sure that you add enough lime juice to fully cover it for food safety. This is great with avocado chunks added at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Electric Daisy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I have made this recipe by following the directions as stated and it was fantastic. I also make a shortcut version that is excellent by using 2 lbs. precooked and cleaned thawed shrimp cut in half, omit the serrano pepper and scallops, 1 tomato chopped, one cucumber chopped, 3 green onions chopped, one jalapeno diced small, add one chopped avocado, 2 limes squeezed, 1/2 lemon squeezed, 2 tsp. olive oil, 2 tbs. fresh chopped cilantro, salt & pepper to taste, refrigerate one hour, serve on flat fried corn tortillas or with tortilla chips. Fabulous! Everyone who tries it asks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
The 1 hour "cook" time in the lime/lemon juice is definitely not enough. I even cut the shrimp into smaller pieces and by the 5 hour mark they were still raw inside. I am going to let it sit overnight but I feel like it won't be that good letting it sit that long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I made this tonight for the 5th time and it is so delicious! Few changes from the directions I made were: Marinating the bay scallops alone for about 5 hours. When I have made this previously, I had tested different chill times, but definitely marinate it for 3hrs+. I purchased pre-cooked tiger prawns from the seafood bar and diced them. The seafood guy told me I really wouldn't want to marinate any raw shrimp in lime unless its rock shrimp (which I did before and it was great!). Granted it was just his personal opinion, but it seemed to work for my taste. I mixed in all the rest of the ingredients, including the shrimp after the bay scallops finished marinating. Saved a bit of the marinated juice to drizzle over the top. Overall this is a very delicious, super easy, light and fresh appetizer to make for a group of folks or in my case, just for me to snack on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I had the same problem as other reviewers, my shrimp and scallops didn't cook. But, since I had read the views I did it overnight (but still didn't cook). So I went ahead and sautéed it. I'm wondering if it's because my seafood had been previously frozen?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
This recipe was fantastic, But the only downfall was the seafood does take a lot longer to cook in the lime and lemon juice I found overnight really did the trick the shrimp was nice and pink all around and the scallops were nice firm :-) Flavors totally rocked my socks off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Ideal Food for a Day! I am nuts about food and always bake and cook every chance that I get! Every Sunday is the ideal day for baking and cooking such. I really made sure that it is nutritious and even mix herbs with it for a unique tang!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Ceviche

Delicious, refreshing Mexican seafood appetizer that’s bright with flavor.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States