Javi's Really Real Mexican Ceviche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
It was a hit! Instead of scallops I added Tilapia. It took longer for the fish to cook in the citric juice but made it early in the morning and was ready to eat by dinner time. Would have also loved to add Avocados but could not find any ripe ones in my local grocery stores!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This is the best ceviche recipe!! It does make a ton!!! But it's soooooo good. No changes needed BUT because I'm paranoid, especially with guests involved, I have always baked the scallops at 350 with a tiny bit of salt and pepper just until the edges start to brown (I lightly spray a mini muffin pan and put one large scallop in each tin.) And also out of paranoia, I boil the shrimp for just a couple of seconds... I can't remember how long I let it marinate in the past, but probably more than an hour because I'm always making a ton of food for parties and let me tell you, this is always a favorite!! Thank you and cheers to Javi!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Next time I will either use bay shrimp or pre cooked shrimp. Takes a lot longer than an hour for the shrimp to cook. Very frusterating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valeria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange Cove, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
The recipe is easy and great. I modified it by using a purple onion instead of white. I also refrigerated my seafood with the lime/lemon juice overnight and added the vegetables the next morning as well as the salt & pepper. Once it was all complete it went back in the fridge for at least an hour before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Warhorse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
No juicing, no chopping, no wasted ingredients, AND no clean up! Our fresh, all natural, ceviche marinade, ¡Ceviche Marinade!, makes ceviche easy to prepare. A lot of time (and money) is spent purchasing the ingredients, preparing and cleaning up. We eliminate all this with our marinade. Simply dice your favorite fish, mix in ¡Ceviche Marinade!, and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Used Tilapia instead of half the shrimp and am glad I did! This made soooo much! It was awesome, the tilapia was a little less expensive and there was plenty of fish in the Ceviche and it tasted awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Yummy!!! Better than at the local Mexican restaurant. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NicoleP
Home Town: Kearney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Port Hueneme, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
We always let the seafood sit overnight or for a few hours in the lime/lemon juice to "cook". Then drain a small amount of liquid before adding the rest of the ingredients. We mix in the chopped cucumber last since it will get mushy in the mix. Add a few slices of avocado on top and it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I really enjoyed this recipe. I used shrimp, crab, and scallops. After reading the other reviews, I set aside a few hours for the shrimp to cook. It came out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NJ Sherry Wine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Really loved this. I have never had ceviche before and I thought it was delicious and refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Crab Ceviche

See how to make a simple ceviche with imitation crab meat.

Ceviche

Delicious, refreshing Mexican seafood appetizer that’s bright with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States