Javanese Pork Tenderloin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Amazing! I used pork LOIN (a 2 pounder) per another reviewer. Also, I served with grilled red bell pepper and grilled pineapple per the same reviewer. Lastly, I made rice and dressed it with a little sesame oil and soy sauce. I would have taken a photo, but it was too dark outside where we were eating. The reserved sauce is quite spicy, so be warned. We used our charcoal grill and seared all sides over the flame (about 2 minutes per side until you see nice char marks), then offset it from the heat, basted every 10 minutes or so until the pork reached doneness (150 F). Then, removed pork from the grill and tented it on a platter with foil while the peppers and pineapple were grilled. The pork was so juicy and the crust on the outside was nutty and savory delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Do you like spicy? Peanuts? Then make this - but use pork LOIN. It sounds more bothersome than it actually is. I cut a pork loin into chops and a roast and brined it all in the brine solution - freezing the chops for later. The marinade / sauce can be made ahead of time. I made it according to the instructions except I didn't have peanut oil so I used sesame oil. I rinsed the pork loin after removing from the marinade and placed it in a bag with less than half the marinade / sauce. Squeeze the air out of the bag and back into the refrigerator. I cooked the loin indirect on the grill to 140 - took off and tented. Served with grilled pineapple, red peppers and Jasmine rice. The meat itself is not spicy the sauce / marinade is. Serve the sauce on the side. Thanks for a fun recipe that made my hubby very happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
The recipe was OK, a little to much salt, and could use more spiceing up....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
Flavor: Excellent. Texture of sauce: gritty/grainy/not making sauce again. I will try this again as a marinade only using maybe a Tbsp of peanut butter instead of the full amount for the flavor but the refrigerate and reheat gave a weird scrap off the sauce texture. Other minor changes: used pork chops instead of tenderloin as what I had at home, and baked instead of grilled since my grill has snow on it (it's still winter in MN)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
I've made this twice in the last three weeks, and all I can say is wow! When I found the recipe, I was skeptical, I didn't think pork tenderloin needed brining as it's so tender and flavourful already. I'm so glad I followed the recipe, it made a delicious piece of meat even better. This recipe has made a peanut sauce fan of my hubby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food4me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
I thought this was really delicious. We made a large roast and didn't mind eating leftovers for a couple of days. I didn't make it very hot. It was a bit on the salty side. I did know to wash off the brine, but I think you also have to be careful not to overbrine- I left mine in the brine more than 12 hours. But I don't think you could get this texture and moistness w/out brining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
incredible! a little salty, maybe I didn't wash the brine off enough? so tender and delicious! I added extra sake, garlic, and ginger to the marinade and a little less chili paste because my toddler and husband aren't keen on super spicy. next time I will make one tenderloin mild for them and regular for me! served with rice and sauteed spinach. SERIOUSLY DELICIOUS! Will be making regularly for sure! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
Excellent - and I didn't even do everything right! Didn't have Kosher salt, so used about 1/8 cup regular. Didn't have Sake, so used water. Was afraid of the spiciness, so used 1/2 the amounts of chili paste & sauce. didn't have ginger root, so used dried ground ginger. Left out the green onion and cilantro. It was still amazing. Enjoyed by husband and 10 & 14 yr old daughters. Spiciness was just right for us at half the chili stuff. Loved it, served with stir fried asparagus and steamed rice. yummy, yummy, yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
I wouldn't change a thing. It was a hit at my dinner party. Someone commented on the spice, but that is exactly what I loved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2004
I marinated it in the peanut mixture for 3 days, because we were not home, and it was still excellent! Very easy, moist and tasty. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Grilled Jerk Pork Tenderloin

See how to use jerk spices to make perfect jerk pork tenderloin.

Grilled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a 5-star spice-rubbed pork tenderloin for the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States