Jasmine Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
The secret is to only use fresh or frozen peas and enjoy the subtle flowery taste and smell of jasmine rice. I would nix the bay leaf next time. Overall, this is a beautiful recipe! Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
This is really good rice. I love the flavor of the bay in it. I did change slightly. Used only chicken broth. I used about 1/4 cup onion and about 1/2 cup peas and cut the recipe for the rice and broth by a 1/3. Still more than 4 servings. Must be some really big servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
Perfect! I needed a simple rice, something beyond just basic cooked rice, but nothing that would detract from the main dish. I wanted it to be a tasty and attractive supporting side dish. This was exactly what I wanted. Beautiful bright white contrasting attractively with the bright green peas (I added a little extra). Just enough flavor from the onion and the bay leaf. This was an excellent foundation for "Halibut with Tomato-Basil Sauce," also from this site. Very pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
This is good if you like mushy rice, but if you like the grains to still be solid and separate, reduce water to 1.5 ratio instead of 2. So that would be 2 1/4 cup liquid for 1 1/2 cup rice. Other rices do need more water, but jasmine and basmati do better with less. I do love peas in my rice, so great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
This was really good. Followed the recipe and it worked great! I made this to go with Pineapple Chicken tenders from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
very light almost to light in flavor. nice consistency, will make it w/chicken broth next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibiharuka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cooking Kitty
Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Average..I agree with others that this rice really didnt have much to it. Maybe by adding chicken broth it would be good. I just wanted to stick to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
3 things are missing from this recipe: minced garlic, fresh sliced mushrooms and chicken or beef broth (depending on what you serve the rice with). Add the minced garlic with the onions to saute. To the onion/garlic saute I also added salt, pepper,basil and a pinch of crushed red pepper flakes. I added 1 cup of sliced fresh mushrooms with the peas, rices, etc. For 1 cup of rice, I used 1 cup water and 1 cup broth. My rice was slightly under cooked, so I'd recommend letting the rice simmer for about 10 mins before reducing heat. Had the rice been perfectly cooked and with these 3 additions, this recipe would be 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AllyBakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
This taste like plain steamed rice with peas mixed in. With that being said, i liked it. I liked the peas with the rice but i cant give it more than 3 stars cause it didnt taste like anything. The onions, and bay leaf did nothing and was a waste of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I added everything to my rice cooker, with the additional of some Italian seasoning. It turned out perfect. I really liked the addition of the peas. I served with Fish Fillets Italiano from the site. This was a nice change to plain white rice. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancing Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States