Jasmine Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
This was a wonderful rice for our dinner tonite. It accompanied honey walnut shrimp and steamed broccoli. I didn't measure the oil, onions, or peas, so I likely added more than the recipe calls for. We had some breeze coming into the kitchen and blowing the gas flames on the stove top so I had to adjust the cooking a bit. Brought to a boil with the lid on and then turned down to simmer with lid still on, for about 20 minutes. Then moved off heat and let sit for 20 more minutes with lid still on. I also added a bit of fresh basil. Fluffy, moist, tasty, mild rice that was perfect for our Chinese shrimp dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Add garlic too! Precook peas might help as well as less amount of peas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Very good. I added 3 cloves of garlic as was suggested by a previous user. Perfect. Be aware that Jasmine Rice has a mild flavor. Don't look for some spicy side dish here. I served it with seared tuna steaks and sautéed kale. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Perfect companion to the Baked Halibut Steak one of my favorites from this site). Served the halibut o a bed of jasmine rice with steamed asparagus. Was a smash hit with my guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wellington , Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
This recipe tasted bland. I had thai jasmine BROWN rice, so i don't know if the strong brown rice taste took away from the flavors and I didn't add the bay leaf. Also, I made this with chicken stalk and water 50/50. I will try this again with regular jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
I added garlic and omitted the peas because.... well no one, including myself, would not have liked that. This dish was very flavorful and was a nice change up from the standard jasmine rice my family eats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This rice was a good change from plain jasmine, but didn't have the herby flavor I expected. I will be adding more herbs next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newcastle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Sweet is really not my thing, so although I added more peas and onion and got a really interesting taste, I also added one spoonfull of slightly tart yoghurt and seasoned with large crystals of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Excellent recipe!! very delicate (not bland as noted in some reviews). I make this as a side dish to grilled thai marinaded shrimp. It's one of my family's favorite recipes, especially in the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I really loved this rice i added 3 cloves of garlic with the onion and cooked for 15 min as stated on the jasmine rice package and I added the peas at the end so they didnt get mushy. Flavor is subtle but thats what I wanted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StylinCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewiston, Maine, USA
Living In: Auburn, Maine, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States