Japanese Tofu Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cristy
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I LOVED this recipe and so did my "meat and potato" husband. Basically used the recipe as a base and added mixed veggies such as peppers, red, yellow or/green, broccoli, shredded carrots, snap peas, fresh sliced basil, and put tomato at the end of stir so it doesn't get mushy. In addition to the spices in the recipe, I used lemon pepper, little bit of chili powder or curry powder, white wine (to replace the mirin). I put this with rice and was a hit! I loved this so much that this is my first recipe post I am submitting!! This is was definitely added to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Point, New York, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I enjoyed it very much. Unfortunately, my husband voted it "not a repeat." He discovered that he's not crazy about tofu that is not crispy on the outside. We both really liked the dressing though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SherryL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
delicious! i used green onion instead of red to my taste, and threw in some rough grated carrot. thought bean sprouts would've been good too, am planning on trying that next time. i did not find it to be even a bit too saucy; it all absorbed into the tofu -- which i recommend freezing, i never have to press it afterwards and it has the best texture, even uncooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Loved it, with the decrease in the amount of sauce as others mentioned (used the same amount of the aromatics though). I used shallots, since I didn't have red onion. Used fresh tofu from a local tofu shop, which is amazing. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BethLind
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
My husband raved about this salad and I have to agree! It is very tasty and I have several ideas of things we could add to the salad for some variety. This will be a recipe that will be made often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BethLind
Home Town: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I just made this for a potluck and everyone was asking for the recipe. I did brown the tofu in a little oil to firm it up. I also minced jalapeno and added it. Next time I may try some other veggies since, as other reviewers said, there's extra sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I couldn't imagine raw, albeit pressed, tofu cubes, so I stir-fried them in a small amount of sesame oil. I also substituted a can of drained mandarin organ segments for the tomatoes. I added a bag of mixed greens and tossed it all together. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Excellent salad dressing. I also add some greens (spring mix works great) and leave out the red onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Oh man is this one ever good. So simple!!!! I always buy my tofu in water bins at an Asian market, so the tofu tastes smooth and creamy. I ate this whole recipe by myself for lunch. I will make again and again, and adding extra veggies is super easy. UPDATE: I made a big batch of this for my lunch. The next day the sauce made the tofu taste a little strong and bitter. It was still good, but just too strong. I would recomend eating it right away or mixing the salad together and throwing the sauce on when you eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
We use just shoyu and sesame oil for the dressing. I leave out the onion and cilantro, and add in some cucumber. Sprinkle with sesame seeds, and, simple and delicious dinner that my kids love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Yuba Noodle Salad

A yuba "noodle" and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States