Japanese Sushi Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I really liked this recipe. I couldn't find seaweed in a store where I live, so i just fished some out of the pond in my back yard. I give it 3 thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I am with the others who have mentioned you need to use rice vinegar. The only reason you might want to use any sugar is if the brand of vinegar is not sweet enough for your taste and no way do you cook the seaweed in the rice for sushi rice! You also don't need to use expensive sushi rice for it to be good and can use a very inexpensive substitute called Calrose rice that's available in almost every single grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deeli

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richland, Washington, USA
Photo by Seattle2Sydney
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
I wanted to cook rice to use for making onigiri (Japanese rice balls). I wasn't sure about the nori sheet so rather than throw it in whole, I tore it into small pieces, which seemed to work fine and mix into the rice. I also only put half a tsp of sugar. After cooking for 20 minutes, I let it sit, (covered) removed from the heat, for a further ten minutes as I have seen in other recipes. When I was ready to use it, the consistency was great. I ended up adding some furikake (Japanese rice seasoning) to the rice afterwards too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
This is not sushi rice... I eat sushi a minimum of once a week and this tastes nothing like what I have had at many sushi places. This needs the rice wine vinegar and use nishiki rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saugerties, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
The omission of rice vinegar is a killer. It makes it taste nothing like true sushi rice. Sorry, this is just not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I think this needs rice vinegar, and no sugar. Try the perfect sushi rice, or you can buy sushi rice powder at many Japanese grocery stores for quick fixes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnPan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shibuya, Tokyo, Japan
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
call it whatever you want to, my picky family chomped it down and asked for more! Made it with slow cooker adobo chicken and quick sesame green beans as per menu suggestion. Definitely what we call a 'do-over'! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
While cooking it smelled very 'seaweedy', but when done it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
Did not work, needs vinegar for flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morgan Nowicki

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodstock, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How To Make Sushi Rice

Learn the best way to make sushi rice.

Perfect Sushi Rice

Discover the tricks to making perfect sushi rice.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States