Japanese-Style Sesame Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
This has become a staple in my house. My husband is not fond of many vegetables but these he will eat. I add ground black pepper, a bit of hot sauce, and minced/chopped garlic. It gives it a bit more kick. I have also added snow peas (mix them in later as they cook more quickly) and this comes out good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I made this as written and it was very good, but I felt something was missing so the second time I added 1/2 tsp garlic powder as the beans were cooking and I took another rater's suggestion and drizzled with sesame oil to finish. Very good recipe, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Good starting point but was too bland. I added some spices before I ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
This was very tasty. I did use young/tender frozen green beans and it tasted great. A nice change from the same old green beans. Served with "Oyako Donburi" and "Japanese Zucchini and Onions."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
- cut down amount of canola oil used to maybe 1/2 Tbsp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
this was pretty good. the green beans took longer to cook than this recipe stated. made with scallop stirfry and it was pretty good. an interesting change from boring green beans from a can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marette

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berea, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Thanks so much for this easy and flavorful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Priyanka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
not really japanese style...my mom's from japan. I liked them, but they were NOT japanese style. They needed a little more flavor. I think the sesame oil was a little over powering
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
These were really delicious! I used those frozen "steam-able" green beans, thawed them out, and then just followed the rest of the recipe. They have a GREAT flavor - and I don't usually like green beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
WAY too much oil for us. i was not a fan of this cooking method for green beans. i prefer to steam them first and then flavor them with melted fresh herb butter or olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States