Japanese-Style Sesame Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
If you are looking to make the green beans that are at the Chinese restaurants, this is it! I used 1 1/2 Tblsp. of vegetable oil, as I can not tell the difference in any other oil. And, I used 1 lb of french style frozen defrosted green beans. And, I also did not add the sesame seeds, because I do not like them on vegetables. But, the recipe is basically green beans sauteed in oil and then flavored or salted with soy sauce. They are identical to the ones in the Asian restaurants in look and in taste. But, I am giving it a 4, because I was hoping if I made them at home they would be a little less greasy. I may make again with stir fry, but with only half the oil and soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
One of our favorites recipes. As is! My kids actually ASK me to make these and they don't like veggies. It's pretty much the only way they'll eat green beans. My husband and I love them, too. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy LaPorta Rainwater

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
These were pretty good. I boiled them before pan frying them because we don't like crunchy veggies and they came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Nealy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Douglass, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Delicious! I also covered mine for 5 minutes to so to get them cooked enough. Using a good quality soy sauce will make all the difference in a recipe like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
too much oil for our taste....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
I wasn't sure about this dish but it turned out great. The flavors was tasteful. I would wait alittle while before I add the soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Loved it! Didnt change a thing-it didnt need it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fizzgig

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
These were not what I expected but I will try them again. I didn't have toasted sesame seeds and that my have been the difference. I used sesame seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Novelty, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Oh my goodness... these are so good that you will forget you're eating vegetables!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
This was excellent with some modifications. I used peanut oil instead of canola. I began with green onions and fresh garlic from the farmer's market, letting those brown a bit before I added the green beans. By the time the beans were done, the onions and garlic were nice and carmelized. The cooking method here worked beautifully. Thanks for a terrific jumping off point!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States