Japanese-Style Sesame Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Delicious, pretty and different. I found I needed to cover the pan a few minutes to ensure the beans were cooked crisp-tender before they would turn too brown. I finished these with a dribble of toasted sesame seed oil at the end which really enhanced the flavor, and I believe this would have been kind of boring without it. These were so good and flavorful that this is one of those rare occasions where the addition of garlic wouldn't necessarily have made this any better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Very easy and delicious. Everyone at Thanksgiving dinner loved it. You can substitute asparagus for the green beans and sliced or slivered toasted almonds for the sesame seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
I used thawed, frozen green beans and it worked, but would have been better with fresh. I also added a clove of minced garlic to the oil with the green beans and it was exactly what I was looking for, YUMMY! UPDATE: I wanted this again, but had no green beans so I used broccoli instead and it was equally delicious (although I used a little more soy sauce & sesame oil since they soaked it right up)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
We really enjoyed this tasty dish. I did add some fresh garlic to it and some sliced fresh mushrooms. Because of personal time constraints, I actually undercooked the dish at first, chilled it, and we ate it later, just heated it up in the microwave and it was excellent. Steams well in the microwave for about 2 minutes in a bowl covered with plastic wrap. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEART2HAND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Altos, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
Very good! A nice change from same old green beans. Be sure to use regular soy sauce as the mild lower salt left them a little boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dexter, Michigan, USA
Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
very good recipe. added 3 cloves of garlic when sauteeing as well as red pepper flakes for some heat. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
Loved it..used frozen green beans and half the oils I toasted the sesame seeds first and tossed the beans in gave it a nutttier flavor.. =0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Agosto

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
Delicious! I added roasted red bell pepper for an added kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
I thought these were pretty good. I used frozen home grown beans and boiled them for a little while first because my husband hates his veggies 'tender crisp' and prefers them softer ... I bet this would have been great with fresh beans especially if you like your beans a little crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Delicious!! Next time I will use more sesame oil than canola oil for more flavor...but I really enjoyed these, and so did the rest of the family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin4fun6963

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Conyers, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States