Japanese-Style Sesame Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
This makes a great side dish to go with any asian meal. I seved this with seared Ahi Tuna along with coconut rice and it was the perfect healthy light meal. I will for sure make these again as I'm always looking for great way to prepare fresh veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
During holidays and at family gatherings I recall seeing this dish on the table along with other spreads. The sprinkle of the white sesame seeds always caught my eye -so pretty. If I remember correctly there was also sugar in this sauce. However, I made this dish according to the directions and found that it had the sesame flavor but was lacking something so I went ahead and added a pinch of sugar to the soy sauce mixture. I stirred the mixture and let it sit. I made sure that I sauteed the beans until they were crisp-tender. I toasted the sesame seeds for about 1 minute (over gas stove) and poured it over the string beans. I do not think you need the entire amount of sesame oil when stirring the beans in the skillet. You could just drizzle a little sesame oil on the top right before adding the sesame seeds which adds a nice flavor and pretty presentation. This is such a tasty twist to the same ole' boring bland string beans.. and worth the effort to make it. Just like I remembered....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Fabulous! Just as prepared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loisln77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Delicious! I changed this recipe up a bit - I threw in some red peppers and mushrooms. Turned out great! The only thing I will do next time is to cook the beans a bit longer before adding the peppers and mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
We LOVED these green beans!! The only thing I did differently was steamed the steam in bag frozen green beans. Cooled them then tossed in the hot oils for 5 minutes. The mix of sesame oil and the toasted sesame seeds made this dish fantastic!! Will be making again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Not bad ...but not great. Not a repeat for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Good flavor! I only disliked how much (many?) sesame seeds it called for; I used less, but they still made it strangely crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Cooked exactly as state, but didn't use sesame seeds (realized last minute that I was out)... still, the taste was amazing! Husband immediately declared it a new way to cook up some boring beans. Served with Ginger Glazed Mahi Mahi and a some Mandarin Orange salad with the Asian Ginger Dressing from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
These are awesome! I subbed roasted walnut oil for the canola. Very good and have made this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
These are so remarkably simple you would NEVER guess they would taste so good. . .well, they do + I have people asking me to make these all the time. This is an AWESOME quick asian side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States