Japanese-Style Sesame Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I subbed olive oil for the canola because this is what I had. I ended up covering the beans to get them a little more tender yet still hold their green color but they still seemed to be lacking a little something in the end so I gave them a small drizzle of sesame oil and that did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
These were VERY GOOD! We all ate them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I found the beans way too greasy. Not a lot of flavor. Won't make again. I'll have to settle for having this dish in the restaurant until I find one just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATKOMP

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Delicious, very quick. My family is picky they don't care for fresh green beans. But, I decided to grow a garden this year and I have green beans coming out of my ears. LOL So I needed new recipes that they would like. They LOVE them this way. But I added toasted almond instead of sesame seeds. Our new fave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracysnuthouse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
These green beans were so tasty! My family's enjoyed these several times. I've followed the reviewers's additions/advice and changed accordingly. No matter what I've done, it all tastes great! I've served these mostly with chicken and once with steaks. I haven't served them yet with Asian foods! No one cares! They all love them and ask for them over and over again! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
This makes a great side dish to go with any asian meal. I seved this with seared Ahi Tuna along with coconut rice and it was the perfect healthy light meal. I will for sure make these again as I'm always looking for great way to prepare fresh veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
During holidays and at family gatherings I recall seeing this dish on the table along with other spreads. The sprinkle of the white sesame seeds always caught my eye -so pretty. If I remember correctly there was also sugar in this sauce. However, I made this dish according to the directions and found that it had the sesame flavor but was lacking something so I went ahead and added a pinch of sugar to the soy sauce mixture. I stirred the mixture and let it sit. I made sure that I sauteed the beans until they were crisp-tender. I toasted the sesame seeds for about 1 minute (over gas stove) and poured it over the string beans. I do not think you need the entire amount of sesame oil when stirring the beans in the skillet. You could just drizzle a little sesame oil on the top right before adding the sesame seeds which adds a nice flavor and pretty presentation. This is such a tasty twist to the same ole' boring bland string beans.. and worth the effort to make it. Just like I remembered....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Fabulous! Just as prepared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loisln77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Delicious! I changed this recipe up a bit - I threw in some red peppers and mushrooms. Turned out great! The only thing I will do next time is to cook the beans a bit longer before adding the peppers and mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
We LOVED these green beans!! The only thing I did differently was steamed the steam in bag frozen green beans. Cooled them then tossed in the hot oils for 5 minutes. The mix of sesame oil and the toasted sesame seeds made this dish fantastic!! Will be making again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States