Japanese Style Deep Fried Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
Hooooly snap. Amazing. I don't cook often, but I would make this despite the mess, and the clean up. It was delicious, brilliant and all around easy. Best tasting, absolutely 100% will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheyenne Moshtagh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
So I messed up and had the flour and panko in the same bowl but the results were still amazing. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2015
I saw this recipe early in the week and decided it would be a perfect Friday "happy hour" supper. I read the reviews, made notes of what people liked to add, what modifications they made.... and I have to say the results were DELICIOUS! I was cooking for 3 adults, 2 teens, and 1 child so I doubled the recipe. The 1 tsp salt, 1 tsp pepper & 1 tsp garlic powder were tossed with the 2 lbs peeled shrimp (I took off the tail, too -- it was easier to completely peel it than leave it on). Instead of paprika, I used 1-1/2 tsp Old Bay seasoning in 1 cup flour (still plenty of flour even with doubling the shrimp). I added about 1/2 tsp garlic salt to each cup of panko (I needed about 4). Using my Rival Deep Fryer, I fried 6-8 large shrimp per batch which is what fit comfortably in the basket and each batch took around 3 minutes. It was so perfectly crunchy and such an indulgence since I probably make fried "anything" only a couple of times a year. If you like more zip, add at least another tsp of Old Bay or some cayenne. I think it could take more garlic, as well. Fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
I made this recipe twice. The first time, I used one bag of small deveined, tail off shrimp, from Walmart, and it worked, awesomely!! My husband devoured them!! I got some, too!! So, I made them, again!! WE LOVE THESE!! It takes some work, but WELL WORTH IT!!!! I added some paprika to my mixture, and it made a difference in the taste. LOVE IT!!!!!!!!! FIVE STARS!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
Very tasty and crispy! I used small shrimps since that was what I had at hand, but I think it really would work better with medium or large shrimps, as the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Amazing. Simply amazing. I cannot give enough rave to this recipe. I'm a celiac, and it was EASY to make gf. I followed the instructions as written here and used gf ingredients. The shrimp turned out so crispy and perfect. It was amazing. I really can't even say anything other than amazing. It had a great blend of flavor, crunchy, and shrimp is my favorite seafood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by berger5909

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
My son really liked this recipe. I found it to be very good as well!!. Will definitely use it again using a little more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Wells

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
These were awesome! Definitely a great snack for sporting events.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pingree, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Villa Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ridgefield, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I didn't use the spices and this was excellent. I used pre cooked jumbo shrimp and ate them with tarter sauce. Very Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Deep Fried Turkey

See how to deep fry a crispy skinned turkey in 45 minutes or less!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States